cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Brag0n
Serial Port
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-27-2013
Location: NO
Views: 10,018
Message 1 of 11

[E531] Expresscache not working with Windows10! Fix?

So I've just updated my OS to Win10. (Lenovo Edge E531)
All seems to work fine, but after the update/upgrade my computer has become super slow at startup!
Im expecting there to be an issue with expresscache since i tried to check its status via cmd.exe but the command which show info does nothing. As if the command does nothing.

Anyone else that has this problem?   /    Anyone else that has a fix for this problem?

Cheers

 

Moderator comment: Subject edited. Model added.

Community SuperMod
Community SuperMod
Posts: 5,532
Registered: ‎06-26-2008
Location: US
Views: 9,957
Message 2 of 11

Re: [E531] Expresscache not working with Windows10! Fix?

Good day.

 

Please see someotherguy's comment in this thread:

https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/ThinkPad-S-Series-ThinkPad-Yoga/Windows-10-Thinkpad-S440/m-p/2136330

 

Hope this helps clarify.

Regards.


Community GuidelinesSearchPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
PM requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.

I am not a Lenovo employee

Brag0n
Serial Port
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-27-2013
Location: NO
Views: 9,781
Message 3 of 11

Re: [E531] Expresscache not working with Windows10! Fix?

Well, that really didn't help!


I've tried all the suggestions on the thread you recommended, but nothing works.
I'm currently stuck with expresscache running, but upon checking "eccmd.exe -info" all i get is:
"Failed to retrieve product license information"


If I run any of the other commands, i get errors.

Other than that, it is very obvious that the expresscache doesn't work since my computer still doesn't boot anywhere near as fast as it did with win 8.1.

I'd really like to get a fix for this ASAP, or at least an approximation as to when a fix will be released.

cheers

Brag0n
Serial Port
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-27-2013
Location: NO
Views: 9,723
Message 4 of 11

Re: [E531] Expresscache not working with Windows10! Fix?

I've just updated to the newest ExpressCache software. ver 1.3.118 (8/13/2015) from the Lenovo supportpage.

 

I STILL get the same error; "Failed to retrieve product license information"

If i run any other commands than "-info" i get the error; " **ERROR** ECCmd exited with error 0x7d1 (2001) "


I've tried to do a clean install of ExpressCache to this version as well, with no luck.


I'm still waiting for that fix/solution...

Camparo
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-16-2015
Location: Sweden
Views: 9,706
Message 5 of 11

Re: [E531] Expresscache not working with Windows10! Fix?

Hi all,

 

Please check out how I managed to get ExpressCache work in Windows 10 on my E540.

Hope it also works for you.

 

https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/ThinkPad-T400-T500-and-newer-T/Does-ExpressCache-work-on-Windows-10/td-...

 

Brag0n
Serial Port
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-27-2013
Location: NO
Views: 9,687
Message 6 of 11

Re: [E531] Expresscache not working with Windows10! Fix?

Good try, but still doesn't work
Went through it all twice, still no luck.


I really hope Lenovo or Condusive Technologies get this fixed SOON. 
It's really getting on my nerves.

Thanks for the suggestion though!

Brag0n
Serial Port
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-27-2013
Location: NO
Views: 9,596
Message 7 of 11

Re: [E531] Expresscache not working with Windows10! Fix?

OK!
So I finally fixed the problem! 
Alone.. without any help from Lenovo, Condusive Technology or anybody else.

Here's what I did to solve the issue:

After opening disk manager I noticed that my SSD was partitioned as an OEM partition and at this point I was not able to do anything with the disk/partition at all. No formatting.. Nothing.
So what i did was this (actually, in exact order):

Start -> Run
Type -> "diskpart"

Type -> "list disk"
Type -> "select disk N"    (N <- should be the number that your SSD shows)
Type -> "list partition"
Type -> "select partition N" (N <- should be the number of the partition on your SSD you want to delete/format .. usually only one choice)

Type -> "delete partition override"
Type -> "exit"

If you haven't already UNINSTALLED EXPRESSCACHE (?) from you computer at this point.. do it now!
(Don't worry)

REBOOT!

Install Expresscache (In my case the newest by lenovo for Win10 64-bit)

REBOOT!

Start -> CMD (run as admin)

Type -> "eccmd.exe -info

And VOILA! 
(At least that made it all work for me!)

Good luck to the rest of you guys out there!

robfly
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-01-2015
Location: home
Views: 9,272
Message 8 of 11

Re: [E531] Expresscache not working with Windows10! Fix?

Doesn't work for me on my s230u mod 3347.

I get a license error.

 

the win 7 expresscache 1.0.86.0 works.

 

i've never been able to upgrade the expresscache because of this problem

 

not sure where they hide the license but on my laptop only the orginal expresscache works.

 

any clues as to how to fix this problem?

 

or should i dump the lenovo junk and get a ssd.

 

i'll never buy lenovo again too many problems.

 

rob 

Brag0n
Serial Port
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-27-2013
Location: NO
Views: 9,258
Message 9 of 11

Re: [E531] Expresscache not working with Windows10! Fix?

I'm sad to hear that.
This all worked for me though. And I use an Lenovo Edge E531
I've been running with the newest Win10 and followed the steps as i wrote above.
As for license.. that doesn't show for me.. it's hidden in the hardware I guess. Had to format the flashdrive, then install expresscache anew after that. 
It should be a fixable problem..

robfly
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-01-2015
Location: home
Views: 9,253
Message 10 of 11

Re: [E531] Expresscache not working with Windows10! Fix?

i found the fix on another link you need to delete the temp files in appdata\temp and windows\temp.

remove expresscache

delete temp files

delete partitions

run new expresscache

reboot

 

ridiculous who makes software the requires you to do that.

why doesn't lenovo put that in the doc or are they just clueless

 

i'll never by lenovo again nothing but problems, probably a acer or dell.

at least you get real support from them.

 

I don't use any of lenovo's driver there at least 4 revisions back.

and don't try to update hardware it's all white listed with old hardware.

 

i think i'm going to move to an 1tb ssd the prices are coming down.

then i can eliminate expresscache.

 

my guess is i won't be able to use the msata drive as a file drive because lenovo probably lock it down in the bios.

 

i'm also looking at the hacked bios that are out there.

 

anyway I got it working no help from lenovo.

 

thanks for your help and suggestion it got me half way there,

 

Rob

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors