cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
The_Chimp
Blue Screen Again
Views: 884
Message 1 of 5

E540 optical drive height? (and some more intriguing questions)

Hey everyone,

I'm hoping to be a proud owner of a E540 soon enough. I just have a few questions about parts and compatibility for future plans.

I'm looking to use an SSD along side the HDD supplies with the laptop. The plan is to swap out the optical drive with an appropriate caddy. My question is; does the E540 come with a 9.5mm or 12.7mm optical drive? I have done a bit of research but have only come up with inconclusive/conflicting information. I would expect it to be a 9.5mm drive along with the other '40 thinkpads, but I would appreciate if someone in the know could confirm this.

Has anyone tried to order a laptop direct from lenovo without parts that are typically included? I would love to get one without hard drive (but with hard drive bracket), memory, or OS. As a student I can get windows OS free, so it is an unnecessary expense. Also, I have a hard drive and memory I can pull from another laptop that are still in decent condition ( from a futile attempt to give new life to a crappy laptop ). I sent customer sales support (Ireland) an email a few days ago buy they haven't gotten back to me yet. Hopefully they will at some point.

Also, to tie into my next paragraph, if I could get one without a screen (but with video cable) that would be brilliant. That would surprise me though, a screen isn't quite as modular (or encouraged to replace) as memory or hard drive.