Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: 11e (Windows), 13, E and Edge series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

141 Posts

11-12-2019

Israel

228 Signins

3525 Page Views

• Views: 3525
  • Message 1 of 17

E590 with Radeon RX550X - CPU power inconsistent after reboot. Bug and workaround

2019-11-12, 13:45 PM

Hi! I hope someone from Lenovo will pay attention to this post and escalate it so the problem gets fixed.

I am a reseller, specializing on Thinkpads. I normally test machines for my clients before shipping them, as an optional service. I am also a professional computer technician. Mentioning this to make clear that chances of user error in my case are lower than usual.

Currently I'm looking at E590 with i7-8565U CPU, 16GB RAM and Radeon RX550X GPU. OS is Windows 10 Pro 1809 (stock Lenovo installation). The computer is fresh from the factory.

First, I noticed that there is a BIOS update (Version 1.20) that should improve the performance of the CPU - I installed that, and indeed the expanded power limits improve the performance significantly (by about 30% on this machine). I also installed all the latest drivers for the machine, downloaded from the official page for this model on Lenovo site. That includes everything related to power management.

Second, there is still an unresolved bug with the CPU power management.

The bug manifests itself in 2 ways, both show up after reboot, both have the same temporary workaround.

1) Prolonged stress of the GPU causes CPU frequency to drop to 200MHz once GPU hits 67C. CPU stays at 200MHz until GPU temperature drops. Obviously, this has severe impact on the usability of the machine.

2) Under CPU stress (without any GPU load) CPU won't utilize the supposedly allowed 29W or 25W. It only consumes about 20W for a couple of seconds, then drops to about 15W. CPU temperatures stay at about 65C all that time.