cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
BuddyPaddington
Paper Tape
Views: 948
Message 1 of 9

Planning to buy Edge 13 - WinXP anybody?

hi, a newbie here...was planning to buy the Edge 13 (AMD Turion L625).

i have a good impression about ThinkPads.....i once owned a ThinkPad 570 in the 90's.

many laptops have come and gone in my life......and now i'm planning to buy a ThinkPad again.

i'd like to know if I can install Windows XP on this kiddo.

From what I heard, the ATi drivers are outdated for WinXP.

I would also like to know about heat issues and battery life on WinXP.

Is anyone using the Edge 13 with WinXP right now ?

um...God bless good ol' IBM.
henk
Punch Card
Views: 916
Message 2 of 9

Re: Planning to buy Edge 13 - WinXP anybody?

What is the need for installing XP, only for nostalgic reasons?

BuddyPaddington
Paper Tape
Views: 906
Message 3 of 9

I think I have the freedom to install any operating system I wish on my lappy, don't I ? But anyway, thank you for going through my post, though your reply doesn't seem to have answered my query at all ! I would have considered it wise if you had taken the trouble to pen down any experience you may have had with WinXP on the Edge 13, instead of exhibiting your usual Brabant ignorance.
henk
Punch Card
Views: 891
Message 4 of 9

I'm sorry if I have offended you with my Brabant ignorance.

I just was curious why someone would be so stupid to pay extra money (uplift to Windows 7 Professional in order to get XP downgrade rights) and then go through the extra effort of installing XP on an Edge 13 while Windows 7 is functioning perfectly fine.

Retired SuperMod
Retired SuperMod
Views: 885
Message 5 of 9

Hi All,

thought I'd drop by and post an excerpt from the forum rules before posts start getting removed from this thread;

No personal attacks.