cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
consultant
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
Location: USA
Views: 21,369
Message 1 of 5

Realtek Ethernet Not Allowing Gigabit 1000mbps

I have a new Thinkpad Edge 15 (Core i3 301DBU model).  The specs say it has 10/100/1000 Ethernet.  The adapter is a Realtek PCIe GBE controller (I assume that stands for Gigabit Ethernet).   I connected the Ethernet to my Gigabit Router (D-Link DIR-655).  But I'm only getting 100mbit speed.  I looked at the driver settings.  Speed & Duplex is set to Auto Negotiation but when you look at the other selections they are 1.0, 10, and 1000mps half or full duplex.  THERE IS NO 1000mbps setting!

 

Supposedly I have the latest driver: 7.7.1002.2009 (running Win7 Pro 64-bit)

 

What the heck?

 

consultant
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
Location: USA
Views: 21,333
Message 2 of 5

Re: Realtek Ethernet Not Allowing Gigabit 1000mbps

And to make matters worse, none of the download links work at Realtek.

 

http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/downloadsView.aspx?Langid=1&PNid=13&PFid=5&Level=5&Conn=4&DownTy...

 

I hope this isn't an error in the spec on these computers (aka false advertising) hopefully it is just that they are shipped with a driver not allowing gigabit for some reason.

 

 

consultant
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
Location: USA
Views: 21,326
Message 3 of 5

Re: Realtek Ethernet Not Allowing Gigabit 1000mbps

Well the download link problem seemed to be a Firefox issue.  I sucessfully updated to 7.34 ver driver from late last year.  Still only connects at 100mbps.  Man, if it turns our the specs are in error on this model I just wasted a good part of the day setting up this new Thinkpad.  No gigabit is a deal breaker for me as I transfer huge files across my LAN.

consultant
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
Location: USA
Views: 21,308
Message 4 of 5

Re: Realtek Ethernet Not Allowing Gigabit 1000mbps

FALSE ALARM. Ethernet cable issue!
Community SuperMod
Community SuperMod
Posts: 4,527
Registered: ‎04-25-2008
Location: US
Views: 21,292
Message 5 of 5

Re: Realtek Ethernet Not Allowing Gigabit 1000mbps

Hi consultant, and welcome to the Lenovo User Community!

 

Thank you for coming back and posting your finding!

 

For 1000Mbps (Gigabit), all 8 wires of the Ethernet cable must be making good contact. 100Mbps only needs 4 wires. There are also plenty of cheap Ethernet cables in circulation which only have 4 wires and are not capable of Gigabit. Some pets and rodents are also adept at reducing the number of wires!

 

Glad you got it sorted!

I don't work for Lenovo. I'm a crazy volunteer!

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors