Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Seppuku
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Views: 778
Message 1 of 9

ThinkPad Virgin

Hello everybody,

I'm replacing a laptop of mine, an Acer Aspire, which was a piece of rubbish that had one too many problems before dying on me, after the warranty ran out. I figure this time, I just want something reliable and I've given myself the budget of £400, but I'll extend it to £500 if need be. The ThinkPad Edge and SL series both look like decent laptops and a bargain for what you get.But it is the choice that has me kind of stuck. From reading these forums the ThinkPad Edge looks like to be having a few problems, I'm not sure if they're common issues, perhaps somebody could enlighten me. I noticed the trackpad thread and it seems only to be a software issue, the software can be disabled if the update and workarounds don't work, so that's a problem that doesn't worry me.

In terms of usage, I'm a writer and I'd mostly be using the internet and Microsoft Office, I'm a heavy multitasker, so I'd want a capable processor. It'll also be for personal use, so multimedia and even light gaming. The Intel i3 with Intel HD graphics will be compatible with games I have, but I prefer the idea of having discrete graphics and an Intel processor, so the SL sounds like the better choice, then, the i3 is the superior processor. I've found an Edge I like for £480 and the SL510 Discrete would be cheaper at £444, but with 250gb instead of 500gb, so they roughly value the same when you take that into consideration. So really...I'm stuck between the Intel Edge 15" and SL510 Discrete.

Either way, I'm getting a bargain, but I wonder if any forum users can share their opinions?

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Views: 726
Message 2 of 9

Re: ThinkPad Virgin