Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Punch Card
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎09-01-2011
Location: Australia
Message 21 of 342 (1,144 Views)

Re: E420s switchable graphics with opengl

No, the only way to switch graphics cards is to right click on desktop and select 'configure switchable graphics'. And then click on the game/application and change it to high performance.

There is no other way to switch

Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-31-2011
Location: Luxemburg
Message 22 of 342 (1,134 Views)

Re: E420s switchable graphics with opengl

Furmark runs only on the Intel HD graphics, but apparently is able to see the other one. However it seems it can't use it.

I have ~4 fps when running it. Here is a screenshot:

 

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/33/furmark191e420s.jpg/

 

It doesnt make a difference what grphics card i tell my laptop to use, the results are always the same

Punch Card
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎09-01-2011
Location: Australia
Message 23 of 342 (1,132 Views)

Re: E420s switchable graphics with opengl

Yep

Punch Card
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎09-01-2011
Location: Australia
Message 24 of 342 (1,095 Views)

Re: E420s switchable graphics with opengl

Any progress?

Paper Tape
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-11-2011
Location: Poland
Message 25 of 342 (1,083 Views)

Re: E420s switchable graphics with opengl

[ Edited ]

I have the same problem.

I have thinkpad E520 with Ati Radeon Hd6630m and unfotunately any advanced OpenGL application dosnt work soo goood :/ (loooooooooooooooooooooooooooow FPS)

 

I am looking for some solution and i was read a lots of forums but i cant find.

 

 In this topic (polish forum) a lot of people have really similar problem with Dell Laptops... but there is some link to HP msg to users about update of software... and HP fix that at their laptops...

 

Dell is working to fix  that.

HP fixed... (manual switch on Windows)


But i cant find any information what is Lenovo doing with that...

 

I hope it will be ok soon. (if HP did it Lenovo could too)

 

Greetings

 

 *and sorry for my english... its not my mother language and i know it isnt soo good...

Punch Card
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-23-2011
Location: Czech republic
Message 26 of 342 (1,050 Views)

Re: E420s switchable graphics with opengl

IdeaPad G770 which uses a latest driver version 8.813.3.1000    (Edge has  8.811.1.5000) has an is option where we choose automatic or manual switching (or according to the battery/adapter usage)  of graphics cards.  Reviewer says it solved every problem.  Even OpenGL with AMD card is possible.

 

Lets hope for ASAP driver update for ThinkPads, not only IdeaPad.

Punch Card
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎09-01-2011
Location: Australia
Message 27 of 342 (1,046 Views)

Re: E420s switchable graphics with opengl

Yeah, HP gave an update.

Dell is working on a fix.

And Lenovo are doing nothing.......

Lenovo Staff
Posts: 3,816
Registered: ‎07-11-2010
Location: Malaysia
Message 28 of 342 (1,018 Views)

Re: E420s switchable graphics with opengl

@All,

Appreciate if someone can drop me a note (private message) on the following information to get a case going with engineering on this issue.

Name:
Mobile:
Email:
Model Type:
S/N:

BIOS:

Win 7 Home / Pro / Ulti:
x64 / x86:
SP1:

Video driver:

//JameZ
Punch Card
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎02-13-2011
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Message 29 of 342 (1,002 Views)

Re: E420s switchable graphics with opengl

Alright, Sent my details, I'm having same issues with Minecraft.
Highlighted
Punch Card
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎09-01-2011
Location: Australia
Message 30 of 342 (997 Views)

Re: E420s switchable graphics with opengl

I sent my details too.

Top Kudoed Authors