Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team

Community Spotlight

Visit the Community Blog

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Highlighted
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-25-2012
Location: Australia
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

what is HDD express cache?

I have seen this term (HDD express cache) in the new Edge 430 features list here

http://www.lenovo.com/products/us/laptop/thinkpad/thinkpad-edge/e430/

 

What does this mean

Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-21-2012
Location: Los Angeles
0 Kudos

Re: what is HDD express cache?

Hi,

 

See the following video clip - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LZFU4cDx_5A

 

ExpressCache is technology created by Condusiv Technologies (formerly Diskeeper Corporation) that allows your computer to bootup 3X faster.

 

You can read further details about it here - http://www.condusiv.com/partners/oem/technologies/expresscache

 

Hope this helps!

 

-Alex

Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
Location: Poland
0 Kudos

Re: what is HDD express cache?

Is it possible to install Express Cache software on any other Lenovo notebook, like T520 with mSATA SSD?

Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-21-2012
Location: Los Angeles
0 Kudos

Re: what is HDD express cache?

Hi,

I would definitely recommend contacting Lenovo support via http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/feedback/contactsupport.page to obtain the most accurate information regarding this.

-Alex
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-24-2012
Location: Los Angeles
0 Kudos

Re: what is HDD express cache?

Our ExpressCache technology absolutely improves boot-time - but I'd like to point out that it offers many additional benefits as well - such as improvement application performance.

ExpressCache is software that leverages the speed of a small SSD as a caching device, coupled with a computer's existing HHD to enable the performance of a pure SSD system at the fraction of the cost.

Condusiv Technologies
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-06-2012
Location: United States
0 Kudos

express cache ssd e430

I down;oaded the express cache to activate on my e430. When I run Disk mgmt it shows two partions one primary at 6.91 and the other hibernation at 8.0. Is th cahe software working properly, I cannot tell?

DAF
802.11n
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎08-12-2008
Location: Florida, USA
0 Kudos

Re: express cache ssd e430

Follow these steps

1) Uninstall ExpressCache

2) In Disk Management, delete both partitions in the mSATA and then delete the Volume.

3) Re-install ExpressCache and reboot.

 

You can get more details here:

http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?DocID=HT074404

 

I recently installed a 32GB mSATA in my E420 and am very pleased with the results!


E420, i5, 8GB, 500GB/7200, 32GB mSATA, Win 8.1 Pro x64
T61, 4GB, 500GB Hybrid, Win 8.1 Pro x64
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-01-2012
Location: Mexico
0 Kudos

Re: express cache ssd e430

Is it ok if I install this on my Lenovo y580?

Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-19-2013
Location: United States
0 Kudos

Re: express cache ssd e430


sensei22 wrote:

Is it ok if I install this on my Lenovo y580?


I did so 28 days ago and it has worked quite well.

I ordered a y580 with only the mechanical 750 GB drive.

Monthers later, I put in a 30 GB Intel mSATA* and installed a copy of Express Cache I had downloaded from Lenovo.

Works great. My boot times are cut somewhere between 25 and 50% depending on how I test.

GIMP loads in 10 seconds where it used to take 20.

 

* PN for the drive was SSDMCEAC030B301 

Punch Card
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-08-2009
Location: Portland, OR
0 Kudos

Re: what is HDD express cache?

Hello, I have ExpressCache on my X240 and I am also seeing very high nonpaged pool memory consumption by the excsd.sys driver. Is this normal?