English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: L, R and SL series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

03-25-2011

Chicago, USA

7 Signins

43 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎03-25-2011
  • Location: Chicago, USA
  • Views: 43
  • Message 1 of 5

Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6200 Lenovo FRU 60Y3231 and the SL410 2842-K3U

2011-03-25, 4:12 AM

I have found a nice SL410 as an open box deal at my local computer warehouse to replace my aging Thinkpad G40 boat anchor.

 

My only wishlist for this laptop would be for it to have support for the mini PCI-Express card listed above.  I would like a 2.4/5Ghz capable wireless card, and this would have been ideal.  I picked up said card on eBay, after reviewing that 60Y3231 was listed among the frus supported by the SL line, per the hardware maintenance manual.

 

Not so fast, as I got the dreaded 1802 error upon startup.  Unauthorized network card installed.

 

Granted, FRU 60Y3231 was not explicitly destined for the 2842-xxx line, but would there be some point where the next bios update would have this card included in its whitelist?  Having a 2.4GHz-only card is less than ideal for my needs.

 

Thanks in advance,

 

John

Reply
Options

8 Posts

02-18-2014

United States

15 Signins

143 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎02-18-2014
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 143
  • Message 2 of 5

Re: Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6200 Lenovo FRU 60Y3231 and the SL410 2842-K3U

2014-03-14, 17:23 PM

I just stumbled upon this thread as I was looking to replace my T410s' adapter with the same FRU. 

It turns out the this adapter isn't supported along with the SL410.

I looked at the parts list for the SL410 and the 60Y3231 isn't on the list. It is however on the T410 list.

http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/detail.page?LegacyDocID=MIGR-73332

Pretty lame that Lenovo has a whitelist for wifi adapters. But it is what it is.

Reply
Options

105 Posts

09-11-2010

RO

251 Signins

2011 Page Views

  • Posts: 105
  • Registered: ‎09-11-2010
  • Location: RO
  • Views: 2011
  • Message 3 of 5

Re: Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6200 Lenovo FRU 60Y3231 and the SL410 2842-K3U

2014-03-17, 19:24 PM
the only solution in your case is to update the bios with a modified bios. there are some people around internet that do this. usee google to search. good luck.
Reply
Options

8072 Posts

01-13-2008

US

77122 Signins

2181219 Page Views

  • Posts: 8072
  • Registered: ‎01-13-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 2181219
  • Message 4 of 5

Re: Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6200 Lenovo FRU 60Y3231 and the SL410 2842-K3U

2014-04-01, 21:57 PM

The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may contribute and benefit. ... GeezBlog

 

Communities: English Deutsch Español Português Русскоязычное Česká Slovenská Українська Polski Türkçe Moto English


Using Browser Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community


Reply
Options

20 Posts

06-30-2011

US

49 Signins

203 Page Views

  • Posts: 20
  • Registered: ‎06-30-2011
  • Location: US
  • Views: 203
  • Message 5 of 5

Re: Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6200 Lenovo FRU 60Y3231 and the SL410 2842-K3U

2014-06-25, 2:22 AM

I am seriously so effing mad at lenovo right now, I am never ever buying nor letting anyone I care about buy another lenovo product!

I just had this same problem and when searching on google brought me to this thread. The detailed specifications suggest that the Intel Wireless 6200 is supported for lenovo SL410 but when I put the FRU 60Y3231 in my 2842 CTO it gave me that stupid "unsupported card" error! This is ridiculous. Lenovo, the FRU **bleep**! satisying some crude psycho ego by seperating the same model into twenty thousand submodels and then not allowing to use the same part in one submodel but allowing in another!

 

I hope there is some workaround for this.

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete