English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: L, R and SL series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

05-26-2009

New Jersey

5 Signins

26 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎05-26-2009
  • Location: New Jersey
  • Views: 26
  • Message 1 of 5

Lenovo R60 memory

2009-05-26, 17:30 PM

Hi,

 

I have a Lenovo R60 (Windows XP 32 Bit) with 1 GB RAM - Type: 9462 G9U

 

What is the maximum RAM I can go upto? Would it be useful to have 4 GB RAM on an Windows XP OS?

 

The support page recommends the following RAM. 

2GB PC2-4200 DDR2 SDRAM SODIMM

 

Can I use a 5300 mb/sec in stead of the above 4200 mb/sec RAM?

i.e. 2GB PC2-5300 DDR2 SDRAM SODIMM

 

Also, Can I go upto DDR3 instead of DDR2? 

i.e.  2GB PC3-8500 1066Mhz DDR3 SODIMM Memory

 

 

I would like to have maximum and fastest RAM as possible. Would like to do some video editing on this laptop.

 

Please let me know. 

 

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

1944 Posts

05-17-2008

USA

4725 Signins

59404 Page Views

  • Posts: 1944
  • Registered: ‎05-17-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 59404
  • Message 2 of 5

Re: Lenovo R60 memory

2009-05-26, 18:10 PM
32 bit system will only show 3 GB of ram  the ddr3 will not work you should use the ddr2 pc2 5300 3 GB  you could use ddr2 pc2 6400 @ 800MHz it is backward compatible to pc2 5300 @ 667 MHz the pc2 6400 will run at the 667MHz not the 800 MHz if you use the pc2 4200 it will run at 533MHz I would use ddr2 pc2 5300  and use the max. 3 GB



_______________________________
Thinkpad R61 7733-1GU
Thinkpad X61T 7762-54U
Thinkpad X60T 6363-4GU
_______________________________

Did a member help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!

If a post answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

Regards,
GMAC
Reply
Options

3 Posts

05-26-2009

New Jersey

5 Signins

26 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎05-26-2009
  • Location: New Jersey
  • Views: 26
  • Message 3 of 5

Re: Lenovo R60 memory

2009-05-26, 20:11 PM

How do I check my current RAM?

 

I just want to make sure it is 5300 mb/sec and at same GHZ as the new one. So that it works with it.

 

or would a different one still work? And I dont have to bother about it? 

Reply
Options

7638 Posts

11-24-2007

USA

5818 Signins

103093 Page Views

  • Posts: 7638
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 103093
  • Message 4 of 5

Re: Lenovo R60 memory

2009-05-27, 3:10 AM

Chances are that your current RAM is PC2-5300. You can download the utility called CPU-Z and test for yourself...

 

As previously stated, any DDR2 PC5300 or higher will work with no issues, but DDR3 won't. The pinout itself is different, so you'd damage the machine by installing DDR3 to begin with.

 

R60 platform maxes out at 3GB RAM due to a chipset limitation, although the BIOS will "see" 4GB if installed, but that last GB will remain unaddressed regardless of operating system.

 

Hope this helps.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

3 Posts

05-26-2009

New Jersey

5 Signins

26 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎05-26-2009
  • Location: New Jersey
  • Views: 26
  • Message 5 of 5

Re: Lenovo R60 memory

2009-05-27, 4:28 AM

Thank you very much. 

 

Appreciate the help I got out here...

 

I have gone ahead and ordered a  2GB PC2-5300 DDR2 SDRAM SODIMM for 43.95 USD from Lenovo. 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete