English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: L, R and SL series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

2 Posts

04-03-2009

Australia

3 Signins

9 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎04-03-2009
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 9
  • Message 1 of 5

Memory upgrade problems with R51e

2009-04-03, 6:09 AM

I have tried to add another 1GB of RAM to existing 512MB. But now the existing RAM is no longer recognised. CPU-Z (and Bios) tells me that slot 1 is empty and 1GB is in slot 2 (with only 896MB usable due to graphics use I guess). That's significantly better than what I had, and is probably enough for my purposes, but it's not what I paid for or expected. Can someone explain what the problem is, and what to do about it?

 

The only possible issue I can think of is that the new memory is PC5300 (667Mhz), whereas existing (original) memory is PC4200 (533 MHz). I was assured that this would not cause any problems, just that the new memory would run slower than it's capability. And there is obviously no problem with the new memory itself, as it is recognised and working. Why isn't the old stuff?

 

- Alan.

Reply
Options

1419 Posts

10-26-2008

California, United States

711 Signins

35916 Page Views

  • Posts: 1419
  • Registered: ‎10-26-2008
  • Location: California, United States
  • Views: 35916
  • Message 2 of 5

Re: Memory upgrade problems with R51e

2009-04-03, 20:11 PM
Can you verify that each memory module will work properly on each slot [with the other memory module removed]?
Message Edited by ortegaluis on 04-03-2009 01:11 PM

\\ I do not respond to PM regarding individual tech support. Keep discussions in the forum for the benefit of others //
Reply
Options

1991 Posts

05-17-2008

USA

4725 Signins

59404 Page Views

  • Posts: 1991
  • Registered: ‎05-17-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 59404
  • Message 3 of 5

Re: Memory upgrade problems with R51e

2009-04-06, 5:24 AM
Message Edited by GMAC-R60 on 04-05-2009 10:27 PM the original mem. is pc2700 so the pc4200 would be backward compatible the pc5300 is not compatible with the pc2700  the pc5300 will not work
Message Edited by GMAC-R60 on 04-05-2009 10:34 PM



_______________________________
Thinkpad R61 7733-1GU
Thinkpad X61T 7762-54U
Thinkpad X60T 6363-4GU
_______________________________

Did a member help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!

If a post answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

Regards,
GMAC
Reply
Options

9 Posts

04-16-2009

Sydney au

7 Signins

122 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎04-16-2009
  • Location: Sydney au
  • Views: 122
  • Message 4 of 5

Re: Memory upgrade problems with R51e

2009-04-16, 14:04 PM

Hey,

I think you need to have the same size memory in both slots, don't think memorry speed matters, put fsastest in first slot.

 

David

Reply
Options

1 Posts

02-04-2012

Manila

1 Signins

5 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎02-04-2012
  • Location: Manila
  • Views: 5
  • Message 5 of 5

Re: Memory upgrade problems with R51e

2012-02-04, 15:27 PM

I have the same problem upgarding my laptop, i just installed the same 1g RAM x2 Samsung 1GB 2rx8 PC2 - 5300S 667 mghz both memory are working when i installed once @ a time.. but when I itry to installed it both, it wont booth... both slots are working.. 

 

But when i installed 1x 1GB RAM, & the old 512Mb Ram ( pc4200) it work fine... it boot and no problem @ all..

 

i tought it can be upgrade up to 2 GB but it dosent work..

 

what should be the problem?

 

both 1GB ram is working.....  unless if i try to installed it @ the same time.. but one by one, it works fine...

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete