English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: L, R and SL series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

1 Posts

08-26-2011

Austria

1 Signins

11 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎08-26-2011
  • Location: Austria
  • Views: 11
  • Message 1 of 4

No Microcode Update Loaded for Alternate Processor

2011-08-26, 23:43 PM

Hello!

 

I have a ThinkPad SL510, where I exchanged the processor by an Intel Core 2 Duo T7500. Now when I try to start it, I receive the following message:

02F0: CPU ID: FB No Microcode Update Loaded for Alternate Processor

 

I already tried to update the BIOS (using the bootable cd) but received the following message:

An unexpected error has occurred and the process did not complete.

 

Btw. I'm using Linux (Ubuntu 11.04) as my operating systems.

 

Is there any way to fix that problem?

Reply
Options

3275 Posts

07-31-2008

Pakistan

1715 Signins

151632 Page Views

  • Posts: 3275
  • Registered: ‎07-31-2008
  • Location: Pakistan
  • Views: 151632
  • Message 2 of 4

Re: No Microcode Update Loaded for Alternate Processor

2011-08-27, 15:46 PM

Hi and welcome to the forum!

 

It appears the BIOS doesn't support it. Following are the supported processors on SL510:- http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/product-and-parts/detail.page?DocID=PD004671

------------------------------------------------------------

Maliha (I don't work for lenovo)
ThinkPads:- T400[Win 7], T60[Win 7], IBM 240[Win XP]

IdeaPad: U350

Apple:- Macbook Air [Snow Leopard]
Did someone help you today? Compliment them with a
Kudos!
Was your question answered today? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
de.gif  Lenovo Deutsche Community   es.gif  Lenovo Comunidad en Español 
Visit my YouTube Channel

Reply
Options

43 Posts

10-28-2009

CHI

227 Signins

930 Page Views

  • Posts: 43
  • Registered: ‎10-28-2009
  • Location: CHI
  • Views: 930
  • Message 3 of 4

Re: No Microcode Update Loaded for Alternate Processor

2013-12-18, 5:35 AM

I know ths is an old post but any other ideas??  I pulled M520 from a T410 and stuck it another T410 and its not working with this error. Has an FRU sticker on it and just got pulled from another 410???

Reply
Options

43 Posts

10-28-2009

CHI

227 Signins

930 Page Views

  • Posts: 43
  • Registered: ‎10-28-2009
  • Location: CHI
  • Views: 930
  • Message 4 of 4

Re: No Microcode Update Loaded for Alternate Processor

2013-12-18, 7:02 AM

OK my issue is solved. Booted to a bios flash disc and it that was no go- couldnt get to it.

SO i booted to Hardware Maintenance disc, in ESC key mode

erased and or changed everything i could. Board model-serials-build dates.......Booted again and flashed the bios no problems, although i think the issue was resolved before the 2nd flash and after i erased the bios- not sure. It dont matter either, it works and i'm cool with that.. I dont know if this makes a differance but this thing HAD lojack/ computrace on it until i changed all the serials. I know(well pretty sure) that writes to parts of the memory/bios that is not accesable without a jtag or programmer cable of some sorts. And yes clearing the BIOS didnt work- i did try that before all these shenanagins.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete