Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Highlighted
Serial Port
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎05-14-2009
Location: South Africa
Message 1 of 7 (6,633 Views)

Core Multi-Processing option in BIOS

Hi guys,

 

I've been having issues on my r61e running Cubase 5 (creates audio glitches & the like) - it seems that if I turn off multi-processing within Cubase this helps & it has been suggested that I should do the same in the BIOS. My question is - will this impact negatively on my system in any way? If I turn off multi-processing in the BIOS will I lose power so to speak? I'm not really sure of the details..... Many thanks for your help.

 

Michael.

Posts: 21,009
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,272
Solutions: 1,357
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Message 2 of 7 (6,603 Views)

Re: Core Multi-Processing option in BIOS

it would switch off one of the core on the CPU, it does slow down the laptop. 

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Posts: 2,925
Topics: 107
Kudos: 163
Blog Posts: 0
Solutions: 124
Registered: ‎02-22-2008
Location: US
Message 3 of 7 (6,593 Views)

Re: Core Multi-Processing option in BIOS

[ Edited ]

If you want to run the said application only on a single core without disabling it in the BIOS try this method

 

In the task manager go to the cubicle process-->right click-->set affinity.

 

You will see something like this .

 

 

Deselect anyone of the processing core.

 

Does that help?

Serial Port
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎05-14-2009
Location: South Africa
Message 4 of 7 (6,580 Views)

Re: Core Multi-Processing option in BIOS

Thank you vijaysaradhi, I'll try that Smiley Happy

Serial Port
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎05-14-2009
Location: South Africa
Message 5 of 7 (6,578 Views)

Re: Core Multi-Processing option in BIOS

If I change the process affinity in task manager for Cubase will I have to do that every time I open Cubase? Or will the setting be remembered?

Posts: 2,925
Topics: 107
Kudos: 163
Blog Posts: 0
Solutions: 124
Registered: ‎02-22-2008
Location: US
Message 6 of 7 (6,566 Views)

Re: Core Multi-Processing option in BIOS

Unfortunately no... you need to do it every time you  log into the system,but atleast you will void the need of shutting down a core! Smiley Wink

 

 

 

Serial Port
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎05-14-2009
Location: South Africa
Message 7 of 7 (6,562 Views)

Re: Core Multi-Processing option in BIOS

Thanks vijaysaradhi :-)

top kudoed authors
User Kudos Count
1