cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
michaelmartin
Serial Port
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎05-14-2009
Location: South Africa
Views: 9,718
Message 1 of 7

Core Multi-Processing option in BIOS

Hi guys,

 

I've been having issues on my r61e running Cubase 5 (creates audio glitches & the like) - it seems that if I turn off multi-processing within Cubase this helps & it has been suggested that I should do the same in the BIOS. My question is - will this impact negatively on my system in any way? If I turn off multi-processing in the BIOS will I lose power so to speak? I'm not really sure of the details..... Many thanks for your help.

 

Michael.

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 9,688
Message 2 of 7

Re: Core Multi-Processing option in BIOS

it would switch off one of the core on the CPU, it does slow down the laptop. 

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 2,935
Registered: ‎02-22-2008
Location: US
Views: 9,678
Message 3 of 7

Re: Core Multi-Processing option in BIOS

If you want to run the said application only on a single core without disabling it in the BIOS try this method

 

In the task manager go to the cubicle process-->right click-->set affinity.

 

You will see something like this .

 

105i08BDEF33AD8564E4

 

Deselect anyone of the processing core.

 

Does that help?

michaelmartin
Serial Port
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎05-14-2009
Location: South Africa
Views: 9,665
Message 4 of 7

Re: Core Multi-Processing option in BIOS

Thank you vijaysaradhi, I'll try that Smiley Happy

michaelmartin
Serial Port
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎05-14-2009
Location: South Africa
Views: 9,663
Message 5 of 7

Re: Core Multi-Processing option in BIOS

If I change the process affinity in task manager for Cubase will I have to do that every time I open Cubase? Or will the setting be remembered?

Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 2,935
Registered: ‎02-22-2008
Location: US
Views: 9,651
Message 6 of 7

Re: Core Multi-Processing option in BIOS

Unfortunately no... you need to do it every time you  log into the system,but atleast you will void the need of shutting down a core! Smiley Wink

 

 

 

michaelmartin
Serial Port
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎05-14-2009
Location: South Africa
Views: 9,647
Message 7 of 7

Re: Core Multi-Processing option in BIOS

Thanks vijaysaradhi :-)

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors