Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team

Community Spotlight

Visit the Community Blog

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-19-2011
Location: New York
0 Kudos

INSTALLING A HARD DRIVE

If I install a new hard drive on my SL500, can I just remove the old one and install the new drive. Is there anything I will have to do after it is installed. The new drive will require the same software, VISTA, as the old drive.

Posts: 3,220
Registered: ‎07-31-2008
Location: Pakistan
0 Kudos

Re: INSTALLING A HARD DRIVE

Hi enssps,

 

You can install any modern version of Windows on the new drive as long as you own the license. If you're using recovery media then it'll recover your system to factory state, just like as it was the day you bought it. For clean install, you would need to install drivers for your ThinkPad, just install ThinkVantage System Update and it'll automatically find and install drivers for you:- http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/detail.page?LegacyDocID=TVSU-UPDATE

 

Hope this helps.

------------------------------------------------------------

Maliha (I don't work for lenovo)
ThinkPads:- T400[Win 7], T60[Win 7], IBM 240[Win XP]

IdeaPad: U350

Apple:- Macbook Air [Snow Leopard]
Did someone help you today? Compliment them with a
Kudos!
Was your question answered today? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
de.gif  Lenovo Deutsche Community   es.gif  Lenovo Comunidad en Español 
Visit my YouTube Channel

Guru
Posts: 8,756
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Vancouver
0 Kudos

Re: INSTALLING A HARD DRIVE

You can also do a direct image if you have the requisite software. Windows has a system image backup built in too.
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1080/688/1376, 21GB RAM, 500GB + 750GB HDD, FHD screen & MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Y3P: 5Y70, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, QHD+ screen
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-16-2012
Location: Cape Town
0 Kudos

Re: INSTALLING A HARD DRIVE

I have a SL 510. Is it possible to increase the hard drive storage capacity from 350GB? Can I use the current hard drive as a second hard drive, and can I install a new hard drive with more storage?
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-28-2012
Location: Vietnam
0 Kudos

Re: INSTALLING A HARD DRIVE

You can replace you current hard-drive with any hard-drive capacity up to 1 TB ( please check your BIOS version ), Of course you can use your current hard drive as external hard drive via USB external hard drive box.