Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Welcome to the Lenovo Community

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.
Shape the Future of PCs

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team
Community Spotlight

Visit the Lenovo Blogs!

Check out the ThinkPad Time Machine
Visit the Community Spotlight Blog
Windows  10

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-16-2009
Location: USA

Memory and the SL500

I recently bought a SL500 with the 2.0GHz 1066MHz CPU. What is the memory ram speed? Can it handle PC2-6400 DDR2 @ 800MHz or it can only use PC2-5300 DDR2 @ 667MHz memory?
Retired Guru
Posts: 1,406
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Location: California, United States
0 Kudos

Re: Memory and the SL500

You're laptop is utilizing either GS45, GM45 or PM45 chipset. These chipsets can support DDR2 up to 800MHz/PC2-6400.

\\ I do not respond to PM regarding individual tech support. Keep discussions in the forum for the benefit of others //
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-16-2009
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: Memory and the SL500

If that is the case, my problem is somewhere else: when machine goes to sleep mode, with the factory 5300 memory it works fine but when I try 6400, sometimes it will just freeze forcing me to reboot using the power switch.
Retired Guru
Posts: 1,406
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Location: California, United States
0 Kudos

Re: Memory and the SL500

Bad memory. How many modules did you buy? Did you buy used [i.e. ebay]? Try inserting only one and power on. Figure out which one is damaged.

 

The memory, even if your SL500 doesn't support the higher speed, will drop to PC2-5300 speeds. But Intel shows that all the chipsets I posted support PC2-6400.


\\ I do not respond to PM regarding individual tech support. Keep discussions in the forum for the benefit of others //
Highlighted
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-16-2009
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: Memory and the SL500

They are brand new from newegg. I will try one at a time and also let them know of my issues. I wonder if memtest86 will help any...
Retired Guru
Posts: 1,406
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Location: California, United States
0 Kudos

Re: Memory and the SL500

Yes, memtest86 will let you know if they are bad.

 

New does not mean that it works. Just remember that. If it results in bad memory, just RMA them back to NewEgg.


\\ I do not respond to PM regarding individual tech support. Keep discussions in the forum for the benefit of others //
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-16-2009
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: Memory and the SL500

I think I actually ran it for one hour and found nothing. I may let it run overnight this time. I am definitvely contacting newegg tonight
Token Ring
Posts: 276
Registered: ‎10-01-2008
Location: Denver, CO
0 Kudos

Re: Memory and the SL500

I did see some reports last fall about some memory not getting along well with the SL series.  I think it was kingston 6400 that had the issue, but I'm not sure.
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-16-2009
Location: Canada
0 Kudos

Re: Memory and the SL500

I just bought an SL500, hopefully it will arrive soon.

 

Can anyone verify if: http://www.canadacomputers.com//index.php?do=ShowProduct&cmd=pd&pid=018563&cid=RAM.187.566 will work or not?

 

Thanks

Token Ring
Posts: 276
Registered: ‎10-01-2008
Location: Denver, CO
0 Kudos

Re: Memory and the SL500

There were definitely some posts about people having problems with Kingston memory here somewhere before.