Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-23-2012
Location: Deutschland
Message 1 of 6 (1,672 Views)

No TouchPad/TrackPoint after Panel-Switch

Hi there,

 

I just changed my display-panel on the ThinkPad SL510 to a fullHD-Panel from the L520-Notebook.. It all worked perfectly and it's running brilliant.

 

But after switching the panel my touchpad and trackpoint stopped working. The cables are all connected properly. Everything else is working, too.

 

I've tried getting it to work on Windows and Linux. No chance on both. Linux at least recognizes the TrackPoint:

# dmidecode
[...]
Handle 0x0021, DMI type 21, 7 bytes
Built-in Pointing Device
   Type: Track Point
   Interface: PS/2
   Buttons: 3
[...]

 

I've got the latest BIOS-Update on my SL510. I've tried resetting it to defaults. Didn't work. Removing the battery and reinitializing the BIOS didn't work, too..

 

I've no more ideas.. could you may help?

 

Thanks a lot,

 

Karim

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 524
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Message 2 of 6 (1,669 Views)

Re: No TouchPad/TrackPoint after Panel-Switch

[ Edited ]

Hi AndroTux,

 

Have you tried updating the UltraNav driver?

 

http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?DocID=DS019164

 

 

Did you find a post awesome? A great response? Kudo them!
Did the post you read answer your question? Did someone help you figure out your problem? Hit Solution Provided and give that person a 'thank you' for helping you out!




Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-23-2012
Location: Deutschland
Message 3 of 6 (1,667 Views)

Re: No TouchPad/TrackPoint after Panel-Switch

Yeah, on Windows I did so.. But it's not working on Linux either

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 524
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Message 4 of 6 (1,664 Views)

Re: No TouchPad/TrackPoint after Panel-Switch

[ Edited ]

Do you know the part number of the original LCD and part number of the replacement LCD?  I want to check to make sure they are compatible.

 

Did any cable get "crimped" when you replaced the keyboard?

Did you find a post awesome? A great response? Kudo them!
Did the post you read answer your question? Did someone help you figure out your problem? Hit Solution Provided and give that person a 'thank you' for helping you out!




Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-23-2012
Location: Deutschland
Message 5 of 6 (1,632 Views)

Re: No TouchPad/TrackPoint after Panel-Switch

Yep you are right.. it looks like the cable broke.. I've tested another touchpad from my friend and it worked.. I'm going to replace the cable.

 

Note to future users: If one input-device is broken, the other one stops working, too..

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 524
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Message 6 of 6 (1,627 Views)

Re: No TouchPad/TrackPoint after Panel-Switch

I'm glad you found the problem.  Let us know if you have anymore problems.

Did you find a post awesome? A great response? Kudo them!
Did the post you read answer your question? Did someone help you figure out your problem? Hit Solution Provided and give that person a 'thank you' for helping you out!




Top kudoed Authors
User Kudos Count
1
1