Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
96ironman
Punch Card
Views: 4,534
Message 1 of 9

R40 Hard Drive Replace Problem

I bought an IBM R40 used on ebay.  It came without recovery disks or OS disks.  It has been bullet proof for 3 years and I travel for a living.  Nothing fancy, just works.

One day booting up, I get a "Fixed Disk Failure".  So I found a replacement 40GB HDD on ebay at a great price and it is a Hitachi, just like the one I pulled out.  I installed it and then ordered a set of recovery CDs from Lenovo.  They run $45US.

It comes as a set of 4 CDs and it supposed to include all preloaded software, drivers and a copy of Windows XP.  I booted to the CD and followed the instructions through all 4 CDs.  At the end of the 4th CD it says:  "Recovery Continuing, Remove any diskettes or CDs from the drives, and press Enter to restert your computer."  When I do that, all I get is a blank screen with a flashing curser in the upper left corner.

I've loaded the CDs 4 times, same result.  I've ordered another set of CDs thinking they were missing something, same result.

During the CD load, I can see the HDD light blinking indicating action on the new drive.  When I look at the BIOS, it recognizes the new HDD because it list it by model number.  I've changed the BIOS security settings for the IBM Predesktop Area to DISABLE as  recommended by someone on another board, same result. 

I don't want to throw this Laptop away, but I am at the end of my rope.  My wife thinks I've got way too much time, money and energy invested in this repair already.  I hate to admit she is right. 

Can anyone help?

IBM Thinkpad R40
Type 2682
1 GB RAM
40 GB HDD
CDR/W DVDROM
Windows XP Home
Guru
Views: 4,532
Message 2 of 9

Re: R40 Hard Drive Replace Problem

Have you set up the CD-ROM in BIOS as the primary drive prior to running the install from the disks?
Cheers,

George

In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,