cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
wtr3
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-26-2008
Location: Atlanta
Views: 1,763
Message 1 of 4

R40 hard drive replace?

I have an R40 (2897) that has a 20GB hard drive -- that is too small! and I either need to replace it or find a way to add an additional one. Anyone know if either of those choices is possible on R40? Thanks, W
Guru
Posts: 7,626
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
Views: 1,755
Message 2 of 4

Re: R40 hard drive replace?

Welcome to the forum!

Your R40 will take any PATA/IDE drive in 2.5" format, up to 137GB size.

Also, you can add another drive via Ultrabay 2000 hard disk drive adapter that would replace your media drive.

I'd begin my hard drive shopping here:

www.newegg.com

www.zipzoomfly.com

Hope this helps.
Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
captnic
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-28-2008
Location: Key Largo
Views: 1,725
Message 3 of 4

Re: R40 hard drive replace?

Did you get your new drive installed?  I'm doing the same thing and have yet to get the drive cloned properly.  I bought the USB case to clone the old drive but keep getting non-bootable drives. Norton Ghost support is a waste.  Did you find any software that lets you do the clone and result in a bootable drive?
Retired SuperMod
Retired SuperMod
Posts: 9,293
Registered: ‎11-27-2007
Location: SK
Views: 1,718
Message 4 of 4

Re: R40 hard drive replace?

captnic, welcome to the forum,

 

when I clone drives I always use Acronis with the target drive installed in the ThinkPad and the original drive in either the bay or USB caddy. It's never failed me yet.

 

I gave up on Norton Ghost some time ago, about six years I think, when IBM started using the hidden recovery partition as it never worked for me. If you have ghost you should look at this post from shumpert, hopefully you will then be able to clone your drive with Ghost.

Andy  

______________________________________


Please remember to come back and mark the post that you feel solved your question as the solution, it earns the member + points

Did you find a post helpfull? You can thank the member by clicking on the star to the left awarding them Kudos

Please add your type, model number and OS to your signature, it helps to help you.

Forum Search Option

T430 2347-G7U W8 x64, Yoga 10 HD+, Tablet 1838-2BG, T61p 6460-67G W7 x64, T43p 2668-G2G XP, T23 2647-9LG XP, plus a few more.

FYI Unsolicited Personal Messages will be ignored.

de.gif  Deutsche Community   es.gif  Comunidad en Español  uk.gif  English Community ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

PepperonI blog 

Top Kudoed Authors