English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: L, R and SL series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

4 Posts

09-12-2008

Elizabeth NJ

4 Signins

39 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎09-12-2008
  • Location: Elizabeth NJ
  • Views: 39
  • Message 1 of 6

R51 need external HD

2008-09-12, 0:44 AM

Hi, guys I own a R51 thinkpad, actually is 40GB HD, I’m a musician and I use it for make my own musical arrangements with my keyboard, Sonar 4 software, etc... I would like save my projects in an external HD for safety because any computer crash. (many hours of work) It has to be an specific kind of external HD or can I used an internal HD with enclouser?

I’ll be thankful of any advise, since I’m a novice on this.

 

Daniel  

Reply
Options

4 Posts

09-12-2008

Elizabeth NJ

4 Signins

39 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎09-12-2008
  • Location: Elizabeth NJ
  • Views: 39
  • Message 2 of 6

Re: R51 need external HD

2008-09-12, 1:03 AM

Possible options ????

Somebody is selling a  Laptop Hard drives 40 gig 5400rpm IDE - $30 next to my town is brand new in the factory bag.. Somebody else is selling a 500 gig western digital hard drive new! - $50 What do you think guys????? I’m looking to spend just a few bucks cause I’m buying more musical equipment that I need for my recordings. Thanks to all !!!
Reply
Options

5 Posts

09-12-2008

Aberdeen, North Carolina

8 Signins

40 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎09-12-2008
  • Location: Aberdeen, North Carolina
  • Views: 40
  • Message 3 of 6

Re: R51 need external HD

2008-09-12, 1:24 AM
You can use any harddrive, just so long as you can connect with a USB cord.  I have several 3.5 harddrives that I put into external cases plus I have a box from Thermaltake called BlacX that will accept SATA drives, either the 2.5 or 3.5 sizes and you don't need to have the external case.  Go to www.newegg.com and compare their prices for harddrives.
Reply
Options

4 Posts

09-12-2008

Elizabeth NJ

4 Signins

39 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎09-12-2008
  • Location: Elizabeth NJ
  • Views: 39
  • Message 4 of 6

Re: R51 need external HD

2008-09-13, 13:40 PM

stepbill, thanks a lot for your advise I know now!! Let me ask another silly question, does exist the possibility to install another internal HD in my R51 in addition to my actual 40MB HD? What I need to do??

 

Thanks......

 

Reply
Options

3258 Posts

02-17-2008

Australia

1962 Signins

50408 Page Views

  • Posts: 3258
  • Registered: ‎02-17-2008
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 50408
  • Message 5 of 6

Re: R51 need external HD

2008-09-13, 14:51 PM
you can install a second harddrive by getting an Ultrabay Enhanced SATA HDD caddy or Ultrabay Enhanced PATA HDD caddy and install it in the slot for your current dvd drive. 
Reply
Options

4 Posts

09-12-2008

Elizabeth NJ

4 Signins

39 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎09-12-2008
  • Location: Elizabeth NJ
  • Views: 39
  • Message 6 of 6

Re: R51 need external HD

2008-09-13, 20:29 PM

Hey…. I’m amazed !!! too much good stuff, let me check it out…

 

Thanks a loot!!

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save