Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Highlighted
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-24-2011
Location: India
Message 1 of 7 (3,708 Views)

R60 Volume up button not working

Hey guys,

   Suddenly the volume up button of my 2005 Lenovo IBM Thinkpad R60 has stopped working...The mute and volume down button are working fine...but volume up button dpesnt....Tried reinstalling all thinkpad software...reinstalld hotkeys software...everything else is working .....Please help

Posts: 21,009
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,272
Solutions: 1,357
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Message 2 of 7 (3,683 Views)

Re: R60 Volume up button not working

if the down is working and the up is not working or vice versa, it means the button is faulty. There is nothing you can really do about it, other than to replace the keyboard, which is not really worth it, if other buttons are working.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-24-2011
Location: India
Message 3 of 7 (3,667 Views)

Re: R60 Volume up button not working

thanks fr d help bro....well tht sux tho....any idea hw much tht'll cost...coz i also need to get a new battery n im already low on finance Smiley Sad

Posts: 21,009
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,272
Solutions: 1,357
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Message 4 of 7 (3,658 Views)

Re: R60 Volume up button not working

Since you are in India it is hard to say (as there is tariff for oversea imports), but check on ebay for pricing.

I don't think losing the sound control is that big of a problem. Since your keyboard keys are still functioning.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-24-2011
Location: India
Message 5 of 7 (3,640 Views)

Re: R60 Volume up button not working

Hey...yest after booting the volume up button worked fr like 5-6 secs....earlier the volume hd been muted..so luckily i managed to up d volume till 8(max 14)....still think its a hardware problem?? Actually my lenovo service provider here jus wants to exploit ny money he can...Thts y i wanna be sure b4 givin him my laptop fr repair...

Posts: 21,009
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,272
Solutions: 1,357
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Message 6 of 7 (3,629 Views)

Re: R60 Volume up button not working

http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?LegacyDocID=MIGR-62911

use the above software to test the volume button.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Paper Tape
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-27-2012
Location: Florida
Message 7 of 7 (2,115 Views)

Re: R60 Volume up button not working

Lenovo says: "Could not locate the requested document." Any thoughts? I am suffering a failure - the qwer keys & vol up & win key all failed at once after codec install!

 

top kudoed authors
User Kudos Count
1