Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team

Community Spotlight

Visit the Community Blog

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-18-2012
Location: United Kingdom
0 Kudos

SL 510 memory upgrade problem

Hi today i tried to upgrade my sl510 2847 with 2x 4gb ram.but system not recognising the ram. i followed the crucial memoery adviser  and bought DDR3 PC3-10600

  • Module Size8GB Kit (4GBx2)
  • Package204-pin SODIMM
  • FeatureDDR3 PC3-10600
  • SpecsDDR3 PC3-10600CL=9UnbufferedNON-ECCDDR3-13331.35V512Meg x 64 

any suggestion guys why its not working.i tried with one module and with both modules but none seems to work

Posts: 20,898
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,253
Solutions: 1,344
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0 Kudos

Re: SL 510 memory upgrade problem

[ Edited ]

which CPU does your machine have? Also, Crucial ram is notorious in not been compatible with thinkpads on many occasions.  It was Corsair, sorry for the mix up. 

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Community Moderator
Posts: 4,063
Registered: ‎01-13-2008
Location: Bainbridge Island, WA, USA
0 Kudos

Re: SL 510 memory upgrade problem

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

@lead_org, I wonder if you are thinking of Corsair RAM?  IIRC, that's the one that has all the bad reports around here.

 

I'm running 8G of Crucial in my T400 - and other Crucial in other Lenovo laptops - without problems.

 

Of course, YMMV,

Z.


The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.

 

The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored. ... GeezBlog

English English Community   Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

Highlighted
Posts: 20,898
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,253
Solutions: 1,344
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0 Kudos

Re: SL 510 memory upgrade problem

oh yeah, what was i thinking. Yes i meant Corsair.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-31-2011
Location: greece

Betreff: SL 510 memory upgrade problem

i have 2x4gb ddr3 samsung with no problems

Retired Employee
Posts: 2,836
Registered: ‎03-20-2012
Location: Malaysia
0 Kudos

Betreff: SL 510 memory upgrade problem

hi dili123in,

 

May i know which operating system are you currently running. Are you on a 32bit or 64bit. As if you are currently running the 32bit, there is a high chance where the memory you installed may not be read to its full potential. Should you require to utilize the 8Gb of ram you've installed you will have install the 64bit version of the Windows.

 

Do let us know of the update and i'll to assist you as best as i can.

 

Regards