cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
fjmatt
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-21-2011
Location: USA
Views: 409
Message 1 of 6

SL300 Product Number

When I open the ThinkVantage Toolbox, the product number of my SL300 shows as "Invalid" and no serial number appears.

 

I believe that my correct product number is 2738-CTO.  I also have the serial number.

 

I purchased this laptop new from Lenovo and have regularly updated it using Lenovo Care.

 

Any suggestions on how I might change the Toolbox product number and serial number?

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 401
Message 2 of 6

Re: SL300 Product Number

does the product number and serial number in the BIOS menu?
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
fjmatt
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-21-2011
Location: USA
Views: 393
Message 3 of 6

Re: SL300 Product Number

Thanks for the reply.

 

There is no place for the product number in BIOS.

 

The system unit serial number appears as: INVALDINVALID.

 

The system board serial number appears as: INVALID.

 

BTW, the system BIOS version is: 6AET64WW (1.30).

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 388
Message 4 of 6

Re: SL300 Product Number

did you ever change the motherboard before or sent the laptop in for service?

The Thinkvantage software reads from the bios, so if it is invalid you Thinkvantage software also won't work.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
fjmatt
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-21-2011
Location: USA
Views: 385
Message 5 of 6

Re: SL300 Product Number

No changes have been made to the motherboard nor has service ever been required.

 

My SL300 runs Vista Business SP2.

 

Other than what I assume are fairly normal hiccups with a 3 year old Vista machine, the laptop seems to run OK.

JosephZhang
What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-09-2018
Location: NZ
Views: 100
Message 6 of 6

Re: SL300 Product Number

I typed in random numbers and it worked try it with your computer disconnected to the internet.

 

 

 

 

 

Cheers

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors