Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
retired_IBMer
What's DOS?
Views: 1,836
Message 1 of 5

SL500 IEEE 1394 Port- doesn't work for me

Hello. This is my first time.

I have tried to connect my SL500 to a digital hard drive recorder using the recorder's DVI input and the laptop's IEEE 1394 port on the left side near the front. The purpose is to record a slide show from My Pictures, or other picture folders, with music from Windows Media Player, onto an external hard drive recorder (made by LiteOn) from which I can then make a copy onto a DVD-R. However, there is no signal coming out of the IEEE 1394 port of the laptop. When I first connected everything together there was a message saying that the 1394 connection was recognized and ready for use. But still no signal. With no other external monitor connected I tried Fn + F7 to display on an external monitor but that was not allowed.

I have used the same IEEE 1394 cable in the past to copy from my digital camcorder's DVI output  to the DVI input of the digital hard drive recorder to make a DVD. So I know that that is not the problem.

The Lenovo web site and the Lenovo Care online help gives no clue as to how to make the IEEE 1394 port work. Does anyone out there have a suggestion? My warrenty expired about 1 month ago and tech support won't talk with me about this unless I buy a new $500 (approx) warranty.

I really like the SL500. It does everything that I need and does it well, except for this issue.

Szymon_Zy
Serial Port
Views: 1,766
Message 2 of 5

Re: SL500 IEEE 1394 Port- doesn't work for me

could you tell me what do you want to do with this cable? It's not clear from your post. Where do you get no signal? FireWire is serial interface for data transmision, as i can barely understand you want to send video out through this port but don't know to which device.

retired_IBMer
What's DOS?
Views: 1,722
Message 3 of 5