Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team

Community Spotlight

Visit the Community Blog

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-07-2009
Location: USA
0 Kudos

A31 - Preparing to Standby in order to complete eject

[ Edited ]
Hello. I have an IBM Thinkpad A31 that duel boots with XP and Xubuntu. When I'm in XP I have a little trouble resuming from standby. This is what happens: I put my computer in standby. Then when I resume from standby I get a message saying: "Preparing to standby in order to complete eject." Then the PC goes back into standby. Then I have to resume from standby again and I then don't see that message. I have no clue what this means. Its not that big of a deal right now. But could it lead to more trouble? Thanks for any help.
Message Edited by dabestharpis on 08-12-2009 06:33 PM
Posts: 7,626
Kudos: 759
Solutions: 802
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: A31 - Preparing to Standby in order to complete eject

What you're seeing is quite normal, don't worry about it.
Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-07-2009
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: A31 - Preparing to Standby in order to complete eject

Is there a way to make this annoying thing stop then?
Posts: 7,626
Kudos: 759
Solutions: 802
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: A31 - Preparing to Standby in order to complete eject

Do you have the latest BIOS and EC installed?
Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-07-2009
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: A31 - Preparing to Standby in order to complete eject

I updated my BIOS and EC and I am still getting the message.
Highlighted
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-07-2009
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: A31 - Preparing to Standby in order to complete eject

BUMP