English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad; T61 and prior T series plus Other Legacy ThinkPads
All Forum Topics
Options

4 Posts

09-02-2008

United States - South Carolina

5 Signins

30 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎09-02-2008
  • Location: United States - South Carolina
  • Views: 30
  • Message 1 of 5

Error Code 8611 - Thinkpad 600E

2008-09-02, 19:25 PM

I have recently started to receive an 8611 error code when I power on my Thinkpad 600E.  So far, I've been able to just restart several times and it eventually powers on and works.  I'm afraid it's going to eventually NOT power on and whenever possible I don't even cut my computer off.  Does anyone know what this error code is and what I need to do to fix the problem?  I am so far from knowledgeable when it comes to the internal operations of computers that I have no idea where to even begin to look for answers on my own.

 

Thanks.

Debbie

Reply
Options

7651 Posts

11-24-2007

USA

5818 Signins

103093 Page Views

  • Posts: 7651
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 103093
  • Message 2 of 5

Re: Error Code 8611 - Thinkpad 600E

2008-09-02, 23:19 PM

Welcome to the forum!

 

This is a keyboard-related code, most likely will need some puliing apart and re-assembling of your 600E.

 

For more info, check the page 56 of the HMM that can be downloaded from here:

 

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?sitestyle=lenovo&lndocid=LWIK-3SYPX2

 

Good luck.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
Reply
Options

4 Posts

09-02-2008

United States - South Carolina

5 Signins

30 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎09-02-2008
  • Location: United States - South Carolina
  • Views: 30
  • Message 3 of 5

Re: Error Code 8611 - Thinkpad 600E

2008-09-03, 0:00 AM

Oh Lord, I hope I don't have to take it apart.  That's way outside my very limited expertise.  When I looked online at the link you gave me, I noticed that the 8612 error code was related to the trackpoint pointing device.  Several months ago I had to uninstall the trackpoint because it started to completely stop working.  It wouldn't respond and would go to the left side of the screen and wouldn't move.  Could this be what is wrong with my computer?  Is there a driver online that I could reinstall the trackpoint device?

 

Thanks again for your invaluable help.

debbie

Reply
Options

7651 Posts

11-24-2007

USA

5818 Signins

103093 Page Views

  • Posts: 7651
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 103093
  • Message 4 of 5

Re: Error Code 8611 - Thinkpad 600E

2008-09-03, 0:08 AM

Well, 600 series have been noted for TrackPoint and keyboard problems when they were new...and they're getting quite old now, although they're likely the most solid ThinkPads ever when it comes to build quality.

 

Removing the keyboard is really not complicated. Start there (following the HMM instructions on "how to"  ) and reseat the cable. That's where I would begin.

 

Good luck.

Message Edited by ajkula66 on 09-02-2008 11:50 PM
Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
Reply
Options

235 Posts

11-20-2007

San Jose, CA USA

464 Signins

16574 Page Views

  • Posts: 235
  • Registered: ‎11-20-2007
  • Location: San Jose, CA USA
  • Views: 16574
  • Message 5 of 5

Re: Error Code 8611 - Thinkpad 600E

2008-09-05, 2:40 AM
Replacing the entire keyboard is generally the solution to this problem. What is wrong? The Trackpoint is not operating correctly. Most likely it is drifting on its own and when the system is booted, the "moving" Trackpoint is being detected and the BIOS barfs. There is another solution and this is to disable the Trackpoint from within the BIOS. Of course doing so will prevent it being used in Windows. If that is acceptable, and you can use an external mouse, then here's the procedure:

http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?t=58723
----------
Ray Kawakami
X22;X24;X31;X41;X41T;X60;X60s;X61s;X300;X301;Z60m;Z61t;Z61p;560Z;600E;600X;T21;T22;T23;T41;R50;A21p;A22p;A31 and A31p
Not a Lenovo employee; just a volunteer helping out here
All personal links to PC-Doctor software removed 8/2012 by mfg request
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete