Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

7 Posts

08-26-2009

NH

30 Signins

159 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎08-26-2009
  • Location: NH
  • Views: 159
  • Message 1 of 8

Adobe PS CS4 and In Design -- on W500?

2009-08-26, 23:57 PM

Does anyone have experience using (or trying to use) Photoshop CS4 and/or In Design on a W500?  I am interested in hearing good or bad experiences.

 

Thanks,

pkas

Reply
Options

29 Posts

08-24-2009

Tonga

182 Signins

574 Page Views

  • Posts: 29
  • Registered: ‎08-24-2009
  • Location: Tonga
  • Views: 574
  • Message 2 of 8

Re: Adobe PS CS4 and In Design -- on W500?

2009-08-27, 4:30 AM

haha i think those are softwares you should be least worried about.

Reply
Options

524 Posts

02-17-2009

Vancouver Island

856 Signins

6208 Page Views

  • Posts: 524
  • Registered: ‎02-17-2009
  • Location: Vancouver Island
  • Views: 6208
  • Message 3 of 8

Re: Adobe PS CS4 and In Design -- on W500?

2009-08-27, 6:39 AM

I've been using CS4 intensively for Photoshop and Illustrator work on a W500 for the past 6 months - works just fine.

 

Michael

W520 (4270 CTO), which replaced a W500 (4062-27U), which replaced a T42P, which replaced an A21P...
Reply
Options

7 Posts

08-26-2009

NH

30 Signins

159 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎08-26-2009
  • Location: NH
  • Views: 159
  • Message 4 of 8

Re: Adobe PS CS4 and In Design -- on W500?

2009-08-27, 13:10 PM

Thanks! Just a few more questions...

 

1) Which OS are you using (and, is it 64 bit?)

2) Are you using the discrete graphics or the integrated graphics?

3) How much RAM do you have?

 

Thanks again!

pkas

Reply
Options

103 Posts

09-07-2008

United States of America

213 Signins

838 Page Views

  • Posts: 103
  • Registered: ‎09-07-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 838
  • Message 5 of 8

Re: Adobe PS CS4 and In Design -- on W500?

2009-08-27, 14:10 PM

I have been running CS on Thinkpads for years and it is not a problem.  32 or 64bit and 4gb ram will do fine.  Even 2gb ram is good.

 

No need to worry, I have run AutoCad on less.  CS is not that particular compared to alot of other software

Reply
Options

7 Posts

08-26-2009

NH

30 Signins

159 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎08-26-2009
  • Location: NH
  • Views: 159
  • Message 6 of 8

Re: Adobe PS CS4 and In Design -- on W500?

2009-08-27, 16:26 PM

Thanks!

Reply
Options

28 Posts

07-22-2009

USA

43 Signins

748 Page Views

  • Posts: 28
  • Registered: ‎07-22-2009
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 748
  • Message 7 of 8

Re: Adobe PS CS4 and In Design -- on W500?

2009-08-31, 6:44 AM

w500 has no problems using CS4 ( fully loaded ) on CTO version  of W500 laptop. using most ( and tested all the all of the options) with EXTENDED VERSIONS on my laptop since Mar 09 , never has shown any issues..... so far

Updates seems fast  and video;s compile very nicely !!

I did have one issue I want to let everyone know:  ( even though issue has nothing to do with THE LAPTOP itself)

 

NOTE:: if you have any of the 'certail hard drive' , there will be issues with video rendering . I tacked mine down to the 5400 speed HARD DRIVE!!. I changed my hard drive BRANDS (from orgional drives of 250Gb fujitsu hard drives in RAID 0) i changed them to Seagate 500GB and reinstalled Windows VISTA and Ubuntu ( yes dual boot)

....

I did this change first week I got the laptop  back in march 09 , and since then I ahve loaded , run tested  and worked  like a Charm .............................. never had any OS or harware issues!!!.............

 

only issue I have ::-

1) lack of HDMI support  on hardware side (even in component output there is no Audio - which is been wrtten up in details in these forums ,,,,,)

2) lack of TRUE HD (1080p) support)

3) lack of *gb RAM support from factory !!!

4) lack of LINUX support from Factory ( even with IBm linux version installed - I was told IBM/lenovo wont support it )

 

 

(sorry to digress)

Cheers !!

3)

Thinkpads - W;X &T Series (work)
Home- T60p;T43p;T20
few others
Reply
Options

1 Posts

08-31-2009

Philadelphia

6 Signins

26 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎08-31-2009
  • Location: Philadelphia
  • Views: 26
  • Message 8 of 8

Re: Adobe PS CS4 and In Design -- on W500?

2009-08-31, 20:46 PM

I have to report some annoyances with the W500's FireGL v5700 relative to Rhinoceros and Photoshop CS4.  I am running XP Pro SP3 at 32bit with 4g ram(so 2.99g due to 32bit) on a core duo T9600 2.8ghz

 

With the drivers that came with the computer, Photoshop worked fine.  It wasn't until updating to version 8.563 did the problems arise.  Now my view in Photoshop gets rendering artifacts while panning.  It ends up repeating parts of the image it is trying to render.  Another issue happens with layer thumbnails not showing the actual layer.  I'll get several layers showing the same thumbnail.  Obviously both of these are very frustraiting and I have not been able to solve the issue or find anyone online with a similar issue.

 

As far as Rhinoceros, one issue has remained the same with the old and new drivers.  My snaps do-not correctly show when the cursor is trying to show me which snap is taking place.  Everything else works perfectly.

 

I have no issues with other software, Illustrator, InDesign, Flash, After Affects, Autocad, SketchUp or 3d Studio.

 

If anyone has any ideas I would greatly appreciate them.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms