English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

5 Posts

09-20-2008

Coruña, Spain

5 Signins

28 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎09-20-2008
  • Location: Coruña, Spain
  • Views: 28
  • Message 1 of 6

Any way to get numlock/numeric keyboard overlay in W530?

2012-11-30, 16:54 PM

Hi all,

 

Last week I got my new ThinkPad W530 as a replacement for my W500 that replaced my R60 that replaced my R51. One of the first things I noticed was the changes to the keyboard. I really like the feel of the keys, but I don't like the layout, I think the previous one was perfect :/

 

Anyway, I'm not here to bash. I'm giving the new layout a chance, and maybe I'll get used to it and not want to go back in some months, let's see. But before I can do that, there is something I absolutely need. I use some software that needs a numpad and the new W530 keyboard doesn't seem to have the numeric keyboard overlay that the older models had.

 

Is there anyway to get this or simulate it's behaviour? Anything, I don't care if it is a hidden Fn combination that will activate it, a third-party software to simulate it, a fan-made keyboard driver, or some fiddling with Windows options. But sure there MUST be some way, easy or difficult, to make they keyboard work as if it had NumLock and a numpad, right? I don't think I'm the only one needing this functionality...

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

38 Posts

08-02-2008

Estonia

297 Signins

1563 Page Views

  • Posts: 38
  • Registered: ‎08-02-2008
  • Location: Estonia
  • Views: 1563
  • Message 2 of 6

Re: Any way to get numlock/numeric keyboard overlay in W530?

2013-09-15, 13:40 PM

 Hello cgomezr

 

Have you managed to find any more or less reasonable solution for the year? If you have, It would be nice to share it with others here.

 

Thanks!

 

To tell the whole truth, it was a great shock for me to realize, that Lenovo  for some mysteries reasons has really removed the virtual NumPad at all. I've deal with laptops for 20 years, but till now I had not even the idea, that some laptop might has no a virtual NumPad. :smileysurprised:

Reply
Options

5 Posts

09-20-2008

Coruña, Spain

5 Signins

28 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎09-20-2008
  • Location: Coruña, Spain
  • Views: 28
  • Message 3 of 6

Re: Any way to get numlock/numeric keyboard overlay in W530?

2014-05-10, 14:01 PM

I'm afraid I haven't found any solution... a year and a half later, I'm otherwise very happy with the laptop (it works like a beast) but I still miss having a numpad, real or virtual.

Reply
Options

9644 Posts

12-27-2009

CA

3312 Signins

95273 Page Views

  • Posts: 9644
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2009
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 95273
  • Message 4 of 6

Re: Any way to get numlock/numeric keyboard overlay in W530?

2014-05-11, 4:56 AM

I have the odd feeling you can write your own Autohotkey script that toggles a simulated overlay with a double-tap of the right Ctrl key.

 

EDIT: And here it is:

 

~RControl::
if (A_PriorHotkey <> "~RControl" or A_TimeSincePriorHotkey > 200)
{
    KeyWait, RControl
    return
}
t := !t

#If t
{
    u::4
	i::5
	o::6
	j::1
	k::2
	l::3
	m::0
	/::+
	;::-
	p::*
	0::/
}

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

5 Posts

09-20-2008

Coruña, Spain

5 Signins

28 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎09-20-2008
  • Location: Coruña, Spain
  • Views: 28
  • Message 5 of 6

Re: Any way to get numlock/numeric keyboard overlay in W530?

2014-05-11, 8:20 AM

It works! Thanks a lot! You're my hero.

Reply
Options

1453 Posts

06-08-2013

BE

1999 Signins

20048 Page Views

  • Posts: 1453
  • Registered: ‎06-08-2013
  • Location: BE
  • Views: 20048
  • Message 6 of 6

Re: Any way to get numlock/numeric keyboard overlay in W530?

2014-05-11, 13:37 PM
Very nice ColonelONeill! I asked a friend the same thing, he said he was using an external USB Numpad

Kind regards,

Jonas Hendrickx

Lenovo Insider, Windows Insider MVP

 

Using Browser Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community

Looking to buy a Lenovo machine? Find your country

Belgium | Canada | Finland | France | Germany | Netherlands | Sweden | U.K. | U.S.A.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete