English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

11 Posts

10-01-2008

spokane, wa

12 Signins

143 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎10-01-2008
  • Location: spokane, wa
  • Views: 143
  • Message 1 of 3

Bad processing unit?

2008-10-01, 23:40 PM

Hi, I believe my brand new w500 thinkpad has a faulty processing unit ( Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T9600 @ 2.80 GHz 2.8 GHz). my CPU meter is usually 80-100% when I am simply running internet explorer, which was my first hint that something is wrong. When I pulled out the task manager I saw that not only was Iexplorer taking up a significant amount of cpu, but a program called tea timer was running 50+ cpu. I am confident that this is abnormal considering my purchase consisted of two identical w500 laptops (one for my brother and one for me) and his laptop has considerably lower cpu usage. To top this off, when I play video games I experience very poor fps, which can be directly related to the processing unit. As a result of all of this, I have come to these forums for assistance; is there a way for me to check if I have a faulty processing unit and if so, how do I replace it without pulling all of my hair out over a 6 month trial of sending my computer in. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you.

 

edit: ps: sidebar will randomly shoot from 3 cpu to 56 cpu.

Message Edited by mricci on 10-01-2008 04:43 PM
Reply
Options

30 Posts

09-26-2008

Canada

47 Signins

480 Page Views

  • Posts: 30
  • Registered: ‎09-26-2008
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 480
  • Message 2 of 3

Re: Bad processing unit?

2008-10-02, 2:59 AM

High CPU usage does not necessarily mean faulty CPU. There are so many things, software wise, that can cause this (and that's  usually the reason).

 

TeaTimer is a process by SpyBot S&D (read here). It's not a bad software, but if it's causing you troubles I'd suggest disabling it.

Reply
Options

11 Posts

10-01-2008

spokane, wa

12 Signins

143 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎10-01-2008
  • Location: spokane, wa
  • Views: 143
  • Message 3 of 3

Re: Bad processing unit?

2008-10-02, 15:56 PM
alright, thank you for the reply, I have disabled tea timer but I still feel my computer is lacking something, could you please be a little more specific on what I need to replace, install, or disable software wise to get my computer back in shape?
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete