English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

71 Posts

08-26-2008

USA

72 Signins

1342 Page Views

  • Posts: 71
  • Registered: ‎08-26-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 1342
  • Message 1 of 7

Can a W500 support 1600 Ghz ram or is it limited to 1066 Ghz

2012-07-29, 18:19 PM

Have a W500 4058CTO 2.3 Ghz Thinkpad with 64 bit Windows OS.  Want to upgrade to 8GB ram.

The specs say to install 1066 Ghz SODIMM ram.

Will 1600 Ghz ram operate correctly without causing errors and freezes in the W500?

Will it give a performance improvement over the 1066 Ram?

What brands are best used in the W500?

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

282 Posts

05-04-2012

United Kingdom

241 Signins

1436 Page Views

  • Posts: 282
  • Registered: ‎05-04-2012
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • Views: 1436
  • Message 2 of 7

Re: Can a W500 support 1600 Ghz ram or is it limited to 1066 Ghz

2012-07-29, 19:31 PM

No, it doesn't exist.

Reply
Options

71 Posts

08-26-2008

USA

72 Signins

1342 Page Views

  • Posts: 71
  • Registered: ‎08-26-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 1342
  • Message 3 of 7

Re: Can a W500 support 1600 Ghz ram or is it limited to 1066 Ghz

2012-07-29, 20:39 PM

Here it is:  http://www.ebay.com/itm/CORSAIR-Vengeance-8GB-2-x-4GB-204-Pin-DDR3-1600MHz-PC3-12800-Laptop-Memory-/271026563528?pt=US_Memory_RAM_&hash=item3f1a7129c8

 

Or in one stick:  http://www.ebay.com/itm/Corsair-Vengeance-1x8GB-8-16-32-GB-204-Pin-DDR3-SO-DIMM-1600-12800-Laptop-Memory-/230819254543?pt=US_Memory_RAM_&hash=item35bde6510f

 

Not sure that the W500 can support 8 GB on one stick but it  does support 3 4 GB sticks.

 

My question from someone who has tried it is does it work?  What about on 1 stick?

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

71 Posts

08-26-2008

USA

72 Signins

1342 Page Views

  • Posts: 71
  • Registered: ‎08-26-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 1342
  • Message 4 of 7

Re: Can a W500 support 1600 Ghz ram or is it limited to 1066 Ghz

2012-07-29, 20:44 PM

Finger check, ment to say it supports 2  TWO 4 GB sticks

Reply
Options

21115 Posts

12-20-2008

Australia, Melbourne

20622 Signins

444194 Page Views

  • Posts: 21115
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2008
  • Location: Australia, Melbourne
  • Views: 444194
  • Message 5 of 7

Re: Can a W500 support 1600 Ghz ram or is it limited to 1066 Ghz

2012-07-30, 1:30 AM
It can support 2 x 4 gigs of ram @ 1033 mhz.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Reply
Options

1 Posts

10-26-2012

Canada

2 Signins

31 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎10-26-2012
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 31
  • Message 6 of 7

Re: Can a W500 support 1600 Ghz ram or is it limited to 1066 Ghz

2012-10-26, 17:04 PM
I bought a Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1600Mhz ram ( CMSX8GX3MCA1600C9)from a retail outlet and had it installed. I could not find any other suitable 1066 device. The 1600 is working pretty good so far. However, it was noted that the RAM will only operate up to 1066 and will not take full advantage of the 1600 speed.
Reply
Options

572 Posts

02-13-2008

US

2819 Signins

15228 Page Views

  • Posts: 572
  • Registered: ‎02-13-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 15228
  • Message 7 of 7

Re: Can a W500 support 1600 Ghz ram or is it limited to 1066 Ghz

2012-10-29, 3:41 AM

Moved to a new post.

Two (I used to have Five) - T61p 15.4" WS T9300 2.5Ghz units, August 08/08 Builds with FX570M Nvidia Graphics; ... One W520 i7-2860QM w/2000M Nvidia Graphics (most recent acquisition and stupidly fast); .... One - T42 4:3 15" Flexview 1.8GHz with ATI Graphics (still perfect for traveling); ... Two - T500 15.4" units both with ATI HD3650 Graphics.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete