Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

6 Posts

04-14-2009

TX

11 Signins

86 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎04-14-2009
  • Location: TX
  • Views: 86
  • Message 1 of 5

Close lid, display goes black, Please Help!!

2009-08-27, 1:57 AM

Ive recently restored my W500 and updated everything via support and downloads etc. but Im still having the same problems.  I just realized that these problems started occurring when I updated my V5700 driver to latest one in Aug. 09.  When I close the lid, wait a minute and then open it back up to resume, the screen is just black but the system is running.  Im forced to hold the power button down and hard reset.  Ive checked every setting that I know and have scrubbed these forums. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks, Tiffany

Reply
Answer
Options

6 Posts

04-14-2009

TX

11 Signins

86 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎04-14-2009
  • Location: TX
  • Views: 86

Re: Close lid, display goes black, Please Help!!

2009-08-27, 19:11 PM

I found it!! Here's what the problem was:

 

Instant resume was checked in the power manager.  This function is supposed to keep network connections alive for a specified time but it was actually causing problems.

Reply

Replies(4)
Options

524 Posts

02-17-2009

Vancouver Island

856 Signins

6208 Page Views

  • Posts: 524
  • Registered: ‎02-17-2009
  • Location: Vancouver Island
  • Views: 6208
  • Message 2 of 5

Re: Close lid, display goes black, Please Help!!

2009-08-27, 6:44 AM

Hi Tiffany:

 

My experience with the W500 is that there are about three different places where you can set the behaviour of the laptop when you close the lid (or push the power button, etc.).  Whether these three different places communicate with each other I have no idea...

 

Open the "Power Manager" tool, if you have it installed (you do this by double-clicking on the battery symbol in the taskbar, or selecting it from the control panel), then select the 'advanced' view, then click on the tab 'Global Power Settings'.  Scroll down a bit and you will find choices for laptop behaviour when you close the lid.

 

Go into the 'Power Options" control panel and you will find similar choices if you dig deep enough.

 

Lastly, I think the same choices are present in the BIOS settings.

 

Good luck,

 

Michael

W520 (4270 CTO), which replaced a W500 (4062-27U), which replaced a T42P, which replaced an A21P...
Reply
Options

6 Posts

04-14-2009

TX

11 Signins

86 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎04-14-2009
  • Location: TX
  • Views: 86
  • Message 3 of 5

Re: Close lid, display goes black, Please Help!!

2009-08-27, 17:07 PM

:smileysad:Thanks for the reply, Ive checked all of these settings and there are not any setting in the BIOS (by presing F1) to adjust these settings.  Im not sure what else to do.  Its almost like it hangs in inbetween sleep mode even though I have selected "do nothing" when I close the lid.

Reply
Answer
Options

6 Posts

04-14-2009

TX

11 Signins

86 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎04-14-2009
  • Location: TX
  • Views: 86
  • Message 4 of 5

Re: Close lid, display goes black, Please Help!!

2009-08-27, 19:11 PM

I found it!! Here's what the problem was:

 

Instant resume was checked in the power manager.  This function is supposed to keep network connections alive for a specified time but it was actually causing problems.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

4 Posts

09-01-2009

New Caledonia

10 Signins

91 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎09-01-2009
  • Location: New Caledonia
  • Views: 91
  • Message 5 of 5

Re: Close lid, display goes black, Please Help!!

2009-09-01, 0:22 AM

I am having this exact problem with my W500, but I do not have the InstantResume turned on.  If I put the machine to sleep by using Fn-F4, it will resume with no problems.  If I shut the lid to put it to sleep, it never goes all the way to sleep and it will not resume.  As blowfish described, I have to press and hold the power switch to cycle the power.

 

Any other ideas?

Danny

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms