English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

5 Posts

04-26-2018

US

5 Signins

33 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎04-26-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 33
  • Message 1 of 7

Max Res on W530

2018-04-26, 21:45 PM

Trying to determine the max resolution i can go for on a W530 with the NVidia Quadro K2000M card.  This site: https://www.thinkscopes.com/2012/12/27/thinkpad-w530-lcd-support-on-nvidia-quadro-k2000m-2100m/ lists max as 3840x2160 yet later I see in descrete mode using mini display port connector as 3840x1200.

 

My goal is to leave the laptop in descrete mode and have 2 moinitors plus the laptop monitor going. Not sure if I can go with a 3840x2160 with this and have anohter external monitor.  The page is a little confusing and I dont want to end up with a nice montitor I cannot use.

Any help would be appreciated. 

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

2496 Posts

06-13-2013

US

10942 Signins

58876 Page Views

  • Posts: 2496
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2013
  • Location: US
  • Views: 58876
  • Message 2 of 7

Re: Max Res on W530

2018-04-27, 3:52 AM

I don't have a dock for my W530 with K1000m graphics, which I have run with "discrete" set for the past 5 years.  I only use the nVidia retail Quadro Notebook driver (391.33 at the moment), rather than the way back-level Lenovo-provided nVidia driver which is part of the Optimus download package.  I have no use for Optimus or built-in Intel HD Graphics, as I only run plugged into wall power and have no concern about improving battery lifetime.  I want to get 100% benefit from the nVidia graphics that I paid for, for both laptop screen and any external monitor.

 

Laptop screen is FHD 1920x1080 (text at 125%).

 

I also have an external Eizo CG318-4K monitor which is connected with miniDP->DP cable from the W530.  The Eizo "native" resolution is reported as 3840x2160 (UHD 4K) 60hz to the W530 nVidia Control Panel "change resolution" choice list, which is what I have it set at on the W530, also with text at 125%.  The physical Eizo screen is actually 4096 wide, so running at 3840 leaves small black bars at the far left and right edges of the screen.

 

The Eizo also offers running at 4096x2160 (DCI 4K) 30hz to the W530, which also appears in the NCP resolution choice list (but not identified as "native").  I can select this resolution and then the small black bars disappear from the far left and right.  The entire Eizo screen is now being used.  However I prefer to run at 60hz rather than 30hz, which is why I've opted to stay with 3840x2160 on the W530 "discrete", K1000m and nVidia Quadro Notebook driver 391.33.  However both resolutions are available, and there is no 3840x1200 (never heard of such a resolution).

 

Very interestingly, the same monitor reports its "native" resolution as 4096x2160 (DCI 4K) 60hz to my desktop nVidia GTX 1050ti SC card (connected with DP->DP cable) and nVidia desktop GeForce driver 397.31 .  The 4096x2160 60hz option is thus available from the monitor when run from the much stronger GTX 1050ti, but only 30hz is available at 4096x2160 on the W530 with its weaker K1000m to go along with 3840x2160 60hz.

 

I add that I also have a Thinkpad P70 with nVidia M3000M graphics which is much stronger than the K1000m, that also is connected to the Eizo via miniDP->DP cable.   Also running "discrete graphics", and also with latest nVidia retail driver.  Not surprisingly the Eizo once again reports its "native" resolution as 4096x2160 60hz to the M3000M which can handle that.  And of course, 3840x2160 60hz is also available for selection.

 

I don't have a second external monitor, so I can't comment on operation in any situation which would involve two external 4K monitors.  But since the W530 only has one miniDP connector, are you thinking of daisy-chaining them with DP?

 

Still never heard of a monitor resolution of 3840x1200.  Now of course a 16:10 monitor would be 1920x1200, and if you had a 2-monitor setup with "extended desktop" checked then the total Windows desktop width would be 3840x1200.  But never a 3840x1200 individual monitor.

 

Sheepishisly, I mention that on my desktop setup where the 31" Eizo monitor is my primary Windows monitor and a second 24" Eizo HD2441W is monitor #2, I actually run with 2560x1440 60hz 125% on the 31" and 1920x1200 60hz 125% on the 24".  Honestly, 4K resolutions make text EXTREMELY TINY.  You really have to run at 125% or 150% or even 200% in order to be comfortable.  For me, I actually don't need that much new screen real estate.  Hence the perfectly wonderful 2560x1440 (which also has small black bars at the far left and right edges of my 31" Eizo screen) is "just right" for my eyes on the 31" screen, and for my needs.

 

And full disclosure, when using both my W530 and P70 with the 31" Eizo as the one external monitor, I once again run 2560x1440 60hz... AND TURN OFF THE LAPTOP SCREEN!  I want to be looking straight aghead at the Eizo monitor where I want the Windows taskbar and Start menu to be, and have no use for the diagonally located (from me, on my desk) small 15" or 17" laptop screen with its 1920x1080 screen. You really have to be very close to a 15"/17" laptop screen at 1920x1080, even with 125% text.  And from where I'm sitting when using the laptops to drive the 31" Eizo, the laptop is simply too far away to be useful.  I just don't need that second small screen, even when using the 31" Eizo as 2560x1440.

 

Reply
Options

112 Posts

09-06-2016

US

415 Signins

2774 Page Views

  • Posts: 112
  • Registered: ‎09-06-2016
  • Location: US
  • Views: 2774
  • Message 3 of 7

Re: Max Res on W530

2018-04-27, 4:33 AM

From the W530's PSREF:

Connector    Max Resolution

DP/miniDP    3840 x 2160

DVI                  1920 x 1200

VGA                 2048 x 1536

 

 

 

DAV

________________________________________________________________
P50 - Xeon E3-1535M v5 - 32 GB RAM - FHD display - Quadro M2000M - Win7 x64
Reply
Options

2496 Posts

06-13-2013

US

10942 Signins

58876 Page Views

  • Posts: 2496
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2013
  • Location: US
  • Views: 58876
  • Message 4 of 7

Re: Max Res on W530

2018-04-27, 5:07 AM

I may not be following your objective here, but "three independent displays" I would think describes the capabilities of the W530, not the capability of the K1000m/K2000m itself.  I think I may have misinterpreted your original post, thinking you wanted to run two external 4K monitors at 3840x2160 each.

 

So you have (a) laptop screen (1920x1080), (b) external digital monitor via miniDP (max 3840x2160), and (c) external analog monitor via VGA DB15 (max 2048x1536).

 

That's three independent displays, two external plus the laptop screen.  Yes.

 

And as I stated, 3840x2160 60hz via miniDP is absolutely possible from my K1000m so it's certainly possible with your K2000m.  I don't have a second analog monitor to try with the VGA connector to confirm that all three can work with max resolution on each.  But I'm sure it works.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

5 Posts

04-26-2018

US

5 Signins

33 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎04-26-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 33
  • Message 5 of 7

Re: Max Res on W530

2018-04-27, 18:25 PM
Thanks for the reply. I think DSperber has answered my questions. I saw the doc you reference but it was confusing since there were multiple references to 3 independent display. That one looks good but there was another one that looked like it ran lower. So it looks like I am good to go.
Reply
Options

5 Posts

04-26-2018

US

5 Signins

33 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎04-26-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 33
  • Message 6 of 7

Re: Max Res on W530

2018-04-27, 18:27 PM

"So you have (a) laptop screen (1920x1080), (b) external digital monitor via miniDP (max 3840x2160), and (c) external analog monitor via VGA DB15 (max 2048x1536)."

 

This is exaclty what I was wanting to confirm.  I have a 3 screen config right now but wanting to up the (b) screen in size and wanted to get something that worked at max res. Looks like I am good to purchase a monitor with a DP connector that supports 3840x2160 and not have any issues. 
Thanks for the verification. 

Reply
Options

37 Posts

01-17-2016

US

287 Signins

2418 Page Views

  • Posts: 37
  • Registered: ‎01-17-2016
  • Location: US
  • Views: 2418
  • Message 7 of 7

Re: Max Res on W530

2018-04-28, 1:00 AM

I believe that you are actually limited to the bandwidth of the version of displayport supported by the graphics card. In your case I believe the K2000M (like the K1000M in my W530) is DisplayPort 1.2 (or maybe 1.2a).

Therefore the following document points out your limits... 

https://www.displayport.org/cables/driving-multiple-displays-from-a-single-displayport-output/

 

See my signature for the setup I use.

 

W530 i7-3820QM K1000M 32Gb Ram
850 PRO 1TB, 840 PRO 512GB, 840 EVO 500GB mSata
DELL UP3017, DELL U2715H, (both via mDP)
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete