English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

4 Posts

01-27-2021

Canada

5 Signins

20 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎01-27-2021
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 20
  • Message 1 of 6

P15 Gen1 CPU At 0.8Ghz

2021-01-27, 13:09 PM

Hi

I have a new laptop P15 Gen 1 With a i9-10885H. I use also a dock Station (USB-C Dock Gen 2). Sometime my CPU have a problem, it stock at 0.8 Ghz max. To fix it (temporary) i need to unplug the power and put it back. 

 

I would like to have a permanent fix

 

Any Idea ??

 

Reply
Options

560 Posts

01-08-2021

Philippines

43 Signins

2886 Page Views

  • Posts: 560
  • Registered: ‎01-08-2021
  • Location: Philippines
  • Views: 2886
  • Message 2 of 6

Re:P15 Gen1 CPU At 0.8Ghz

2021-01-28, 14:52 PM

Hello HWICE,

 

 


Welcome to Lenovo Community

 

 

 

Make sure that BIOS and drivers are up to date thru the support site

 

 

You can also try these steps:

Control Panel > Power Options > Chose What the Power Button Does > at the top, click "Change settings that are currently unavailable"

 

Then under Shutdown Settings, uncheck "Turn on fast startup"


Shutdown and then start your pc and you will again get your best speed of CPU.

 

If problem persists, try turning on the Intel Turbo Boost.

 

 


Hope this helps

 

Regards, 


Lorenzo_Lenovo



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow us @LenovoSupport on Facebook and Twitter!

Reply
Options

4 Posts

01-27-2021

Canada

5 Signins

20 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎01-27-2021
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 20
  • Message 3 of 6

Re:P15 Gen1 CPU At 0.8Ghz

2021-01-28, 15:38 PM

Thanks for your anwser

 

I did what you told me to do. Just the thing of the Turbo... I can't find it in the BIOS menus. Very strange

 

For the update, I think I'm all good (picture attached)

 

I will wait until the problem come back

 

Have a nice day

 

Reply
Options

4 Posts

01-27-2021

Canada

5 Signins

20 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎01-27-2021
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 20
  • Message 4 of 6

Re:P15 Gen1 CPU At 0.8Ghz

2021-02-02, 11:49 AM

Unfortunately it came back

 

Any idea to activate the turbo in a P15 Gen1 because I can't find it in the BIOS

 

Thanks

Reply
Options

366 Posts

01-23-2009

Finland

662 Signins

6840 Page Views

  • Posts: 366
  • Registered: ‎01-23-2009
  • Location: Finland
  • Views: 6840
  • Message 5 of 6

Re:P15 Gen1 CPU At 0.8Ghz

2021-02-19, 12:04 PM

I have had this problem several times with ThinkPad P52 systems. Eventually, a BIOS update solved the problem. I have yet to see it on a P15G1. 

 

Check if you have the latest BIOS, because Vantage will not always recommend you update things. The latest BIOS version is 1.16. Here is a link to it. 

 

You can also try to put the computer to sleep and wake it up again. In the case of the P52, this solved the problem and the CPU was working properly after that (for a while, at least). 

 

 

Lenard | (I am a Lenovo INsider - a volunteer and not a Lenovo employee) | @lenardg
ThinkPad P15 Gen1 | YOGA C630 WOS
Reply
Options

4 Posts

01-27-2021

Canada

5 Signins

20 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎01-27-2021
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 20
  • Message 6 of 6

Re:P15 Gen1 CPU At 0.8Ghz

2021-02-19, 12:09 PM

Yes I received that update and since I didn't had the problem

 

Now my problem is my Dock Station. I have 3 screens on it and some time i lose 1 (always the same) or some time they just flash 1 time

 

I think a should start a new Topic, shouldn't I ?

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms