Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

1609 Posts

09-16-2014

United States of America

3048 Signins

61403 Page Views

  • Posts: 1609
  • Registered: ‎09-16-2014
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 61403
  • Message 21 of 26

Re: P50 Can not Find BIOS ECC Option ??

2016-02-24, 17:44 PM

To clarify, this applies to all BIOS versions.

 

I do not have the release date for BIOS v1.18 but it will be made available when it passes verification testing.

 

Thank you,

Reply
Options

125 Posts

01-30-2016

Denmark

237 Signins

2152 Page Views

  • Posts: 125
  • Registered: ‎01-30-2016
  • Location: Denmark
  • Views: 2152
  • Message 22 of 26

Re: P50 Can not Find BIOS ECC Option ??

2016-02-24, 17:45 PM

Hi Amy,

 

Thank you for getting back to me/us regarding this.

It is excellent that a future UEFI firmware can detect/report that ECC memory is present.

 

The real question however remains, how do we know that it is working? Or let me ask it in another way - why do all methods of verifying that ECC is enabled and working currently fail, or report that it is disabled?

 

It would be very nice if the ThinkStations team could look into this question. There might not be any problem at all. It could simply be the strings retrieved from SMBIOS which are of a new format since Skylake Xeons, but something like this would be great to know. No-one outside of your team knows of this.

 

I'm awaiting delivery of my own P50 which is built with 2x16 GB DDR4 ECC memory. When I receive my system, I'd more than glad to help, although it might be easier if the customer was located in the US.

Reply
Options

149 Posts

05-03-2009

USA

265 Signins

1888 Page Views

  • Posts: 149
  • Registered: ‎05-03-2009
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 1888
  • Message 23 of 26

Re: P50 Can not Find BIOS ECC Option ??

2016-02-24, 21:23 PM

If this applies to all BIOS versions, why people with ECC RAM installed didn't see it in their BIOS?  They have ECC RAM purchased and installed by Lenovo.  I thought this was a "new feature" on BIOS 1.18.  Now I'm more confused.

Reply
Options

1609 Posts

09-16-2014

United States of America

3048 Signins

61403 Page Views

  • Posts: 1609
  • Registered: ‎09-16-2014
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 61403
  • Message 24 of 26

Re: P50 Can not Find BIOS ECC Option ??

2016-02-29, 14:36 PM

Lenovo has identified that in some cases the "With ECC" automatic notation on P50 and P70 ThinkPads is not showing in BIOS as expected.

 

Think Engineering is working to release a BIOS update that includes a fix for this issue.

 

I will post again when the BIOS update has been released.

 

Thank you,

Reply
Answer
Options

1609 Posts

09-16-2014

United States of America

3048 Signins

61403 Page Views

  • Posts: 1609
  • Registered: ‎09-16-2014
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 61403
  • Message 25 of 26

Re: P50 Can not Find BIOS ECC Option ??

2016-03-28, 14:49 PM

In response to customer reports of the "With ECC" automatic notation not showing as expected on P50 and P70 ThinkPads configured with ECC memory, Lenovo has provided a solution by releasing an updated BIOS.

 

Version 1.21

UEFI: 1.21 / ECP: 1.14

 

(Fix) Fixed an issue where BIOS Setup might show incorrect memory information with ECC memory.

 

For P50 ThinkPads, BIOS v.1.21 can be downloaded here: http://support.lenovo.com/us/en/downloads/DS106108

 

For P70 ThinkPads, BIOS v.1.21 can be downloaded here: http://support.lenovo.com/us/en/downloads/DS106085

 

Thank you,

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

125 Posts

01-30-2016

Denmark

237 Signins

2152 Page Views

  • Posts: 125
  • Registered: ‎01-30-2016
  • Location: Denmark
  • Views: 2152
  • Message 26 of 26

Re: P50 Can not Find BIOS ECC Option ??

2016-03-28, 18:25 PM

Thanks Amy,

With version 1.21, the ECC is now correctly mentioned in BIOS menu/overview screen. Excellent!

 

My system was pre-configured with 2x16 GB ECC memory modules running in dual channel.

When I run "wmic memorychip get datawidth,totalwidth" then datawidth is 64 and totalwidth is 128. However, shouldn't it be totalwidth=128+8+8 =144 instead, or am I missing something?

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms