Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

6 Posts

03-24-2016

Denmark

10 Signins

63 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎03-24-2016
  • Location: Denmark
  • Views: 63
  • Message 1 of 12

P50 RAM configuration

2016-03-24, 23:53 PM

I just bought the P50 some days ago and is very eager to recieve it.

 

I got it with 16GB of RAM on a single stick and I now realise that it maybe is not the wisest choice to get it all on a single stick as i miss out on DUAL CHANNEL. 

 

So now im considering throwing in another 16 GB stick and I have some questions.

 

Do any of you know:

-what brand is preinstalled?

-Which slots i should occupy for dual channel (my guess is for example the two under the keyboard as i have seen that the preinstalled one is under the keyboard)?

-I was also wondering wheter the P50 motherboard supports quad channel as it has four slots (I know that this is not nescesarily directly connected to the number of slots)?

-Is it worth the upgrade for the extra speed. I know from experience that I definatedly use up 8GB of ram as I use CAD and FEA programs so 16 GB seemed as a logical choice. I dont think I could ever utilize all 32GB though?

 

I hope you can help me as I'm not very experienced with configuring hardware :)

Reply
Options

125 Posts

01-30-2016

Denmark

237 Signins

2152 Page Views

  • Posts: 125
  • Registered: ‎01-30-2016
  • Location: Denmark
  • Views: 2152
  • Message 2 of 12

Re: P50 RAM configuration

2016-03-25, 14:23 PM

Hi there!

 

Are you sure you won't receive it with 2x8 GB modules ? This was the main reason I decided to have mine "customized-to-order" from Lenovo, as you will get to choose the exact memory configuration you want, and the price is the same or a bit lower than the preconfigured models. But refunds/order experience is most definitely not as good.

 

- Brand: All I have seen until now is memory from Samsung, also those with ECC. Lenovo probably also use Hynix memory modules, they used to do at least.

- The two slots under the keyboard makes up one set for dual channel. When you order a laptop with two memory modules, the slots on the back are left empty. No idear about quad channel.

- I don't think DC is really worth it compared to impact of other upgrades like PCI-e NVMe SSD for example. If I had the choice between 2x8 GB and 1x16 GB, I'd choose the latter as one day one would be able to maximize the capacity to 64 GBs.

 

Generally there's still quirks and issues using 3rd party memory in the P50 without anyone for certain can say what the problems are caused by. Some report that Hynix had a problem with some of their earlier DDR4 memory chips which are currently still available in 3rd party products.

 

What configuration did you order?

Reply
Options

6 Posts

03-24-2016

Denmark

10 Signins

63 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎03-24-2016
  • Location: Denmark
  • Views: 63
  • Message 3 of 12

Re: P50 RAM configuration

2016-03-25, 19:56 PM

Thank you very much for your thoughts and insights.

 

Yes, had the costumized one and chose the single 16 GB stick. I will probably try to find an equal stick and upgrade to a total of 32 at some point. I dont think i am going use anything near 32GB but it will be futureproofed and even if im not using all of it I might get a little performance out of the DC. Dont think I'm going to be able to use 64GB in this PC's lifetime, but then again who knows, I heard something about that OS is starting to use RAM as some kind of prebuffering.

 

I ordered the entry level:

 

-i7-6700HQ (up to 3.5 GHz, 6mb cache)

-M1000M graphics

 

With some minor but cool upgrades:

 

-16 GB RAM 

-PCi-NVMe SSD (I am very exited about that one!)

-Backlight keyboard

 

Im going to use it mostly for studying engineering.

 

How is yours configured and what are you using it for ? :) 

Reply
Options

2910 Posts

06-13-2013

United States of America

11502 Signins

63356 Page Views

  • Posts: 2910
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2013
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 63356
  • Message 4 of 12

Re: P50 RAM configuration

2016-03-25, 20:43 PM

wrote:
With some minor but cool upgrades:

 

-PCi-NVMe SSD (I am very exited about that one!)

One point here... without a HDD spinner ordered, that primary 2.5" bay arrives empty.  There is no provided "mounting bracket" should you want to add in your own 2.5" HDD or SSD into that bay after you get the machine.

 

The money saved (what, $40 I think?) by not ordering an HDD spinner is minor, and I don't believe that to date Lenovo has yet made the rubberized "mounting bracket" (which makes any drive fit perfectly and securely into the bay) available as a parts accessory that can be ordered separately.

 

So if you do someday want the option of using the 2.5" bay for yet additional storage, you might want to go ahead and just add to your order an HDD spinner right now.  Then you'll automatically also get the rubberized mounting bracket from Lenovo, which you can then later remove and reapply to an SSD if you want to make that upgrade.  Or, you can just go ahead and use the second HDD spinner for "data" now, and have the instant option of replacing it with an SSD at a later time knowing you already have the correct rubberized mounting bracket for it.

 

Interestingly, on Lenovo's desktop machines (e.g. M93p, which is no longer available) they offer the necessary plastic mounting bracket for a second drive, as a spare "just in case you might want it" item for $10, as an ordering option.  So you can buy yourself an empty bracket for possible future use, when you order the desktop.  You'd think they would have made the same type of ordering options available for the P50/P70, offering the optional mounting cables and brackets and required plastic trays available in advance, even if you weren't ordering drives to go in them with your machine order.

Reply
Options

125 Posts

01-30-2016

Denmark

237 Signins

2152 Page Views

  • Posts: 125
  • Registered: ‎01-30-2016
  • Location: Denmark
  • Views: 2152
  • Message 5 of 12

Re: P50 RAM configuration

2016-03-25, 21:21 PM

Sounds like a good plan. :) Even though it is a little pricey, the easiest route to memory that definitiely work is the Samsung/Hynix stuff Lenovo sells, even though they do charge a bit more for it than elsewhere, but with coupons it should be more reasonable in price.

 

I used a T42 and T60p when I studied electrical engineering (graduated 2010). I'm upgrading from the T60p.

My configuration is Xeon E3-1505M, M2000M, 4K screen, 2x16GB ECC memory ECC and then the 500 GB HDD, for the same reasons DSperber mentioned. But don't worry, if Lenovo is not going to offer the brackets, I'm sure a 3rd party will make them soon.

The 4k screen is unfortunately annoying, but I don't have other recent laptops to compare it to. ECC doesn't seem to be working yet.. but other than that I'm happy. It's used for programming, virtual machines and Photoshop and likely some SolidWorks in the near future.

Reply
Options

6 Posts

03-24-2016

Denmark

10 Signins

63 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎03-24-2016
  • Location: Denmark
  • Views: 63
  • Message 6 of 12

Re: P50 RAM configuration

2016-03-25, 21:35 PM

True, that could become a problem... To be honest I did not think about that at all until now. In the DK store it was about 600 DKK which is about 100$ And I found that a little expensive. For now I'm good, but its a little frustrating that it has to be so difficult to upgrade on your own.

 

Here I'm also thinking about the RAM under the keyboard and the need for mounting brackets for additional SSD in the second  M.2 slot

Reply
Options

6 Posts

03-24-2016

Denmark

10 Signins

63 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎03-24-2016
  • Location: Denmark
  • Views: 63
  • Message 7 of 12

Re: P50 RAM configuration

2016-03-25, 22:00 PM

Sounds as a badass machine you have there!

 

Why is the screen annoying, I figured it should be awesome, even though I'm myself going with the FHD (but because of pricing)

 

what at are the coupons you are mentioning? Are they coming with the machine ? 

Reply
Options

125 Posts

01-30-2016

Denmark

237 Signins

2152 Page Views

  • Posts: 125
  • Registered: ‎01-30-2016
  • Location: Denmark
  • Views: 2152
  • Message 8 of 12

Re: P50 RAM configuration

2016-03-25, 22:36 PM

The screen is awesome in all aspects but one important thing: If you keep your head at normal viewing distance, the display appears noticeably darker in the rightmost part of the screen. When you move your head to face the rightmost part of the screen, the "darkness" disappears, but then everything from the midle to the left appears darker. It's as if one of those privacy filters have been applied. But this is an issue I'll have to discuss with support next week.

 

Coupons/eCoupons are discount codes. They sometimes have some sort of coupon available that can be applied when you purchase something. By the way, maybe it is not to late to apply a coupon to your P50 purchase if you call sales (unfortunately handled by Digital River). I can PM you a coupon code if you want - otherwise these codes can be found in many places everywhere on the net, freely available to anyone.

Reply
Options

2377 Posts

04-20-2008

United States of America

19617 Signins

111401 Page Views

  • Posts: 2377
  • Registered: ‎04-20-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 111401
  • Message 9 of 12

Re: P50 RAM configuration

2016-03-26, 1:16 AM

You need to install the 2nd SODIMM memory under the keyboard if you want to enable Dual Channel. There is no Quad channel capability in the system. The RAM seems to vary from Hynix -> Micron -> Samsung depending on which box is used to fill the memory bin on the factory line. Originally there was an option for 2x8 for the 16GB capacity so that Dual Channel would be enabled, but that configuration option was eliminated several months ago.


P53 XEON 2276 BIOS 1.31 OLED UHD 4K Multi-touch display, 96GB RAM, RTX5000, RAID 1, 1TB x 2 Samsung PM981, 1TB PM981, WWAN
P70 XEON 1505, BIOS 2.35, 4k Display, 64GB, M3000M NVIDIA GPU, RAID1 1TB Samsung PM981 PCIe-NVMe SSD x 2, 2x Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD. EM7455 WWAN
P1. BIOS 1.36,Xeon Processor, 4k UHD IPS multi-touch display, 32GB, PM981 1TB x 2, RAID1

I am not an employee nor an agent of Lenovo.
Reply
Options

2377 Posts

04-20-2008

United States of America

19617 Signins

111401 Page Views

  • Posts: 2377
  • Registered: ‎04-20-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 111401
  • Message 10 of 12

Re: P50 RAM configuration

2016-03-26, 1:19 AM

wrote:

 

My configuration is Xeon E3-1505M, M2000M, 4K screen, 2x16GB ECC memory ECC and then the 500 GB HDD, for the same reasons

 

What are the model numbers of your memory which is ECC? Curious minds would like to know. Thanks


 


P53 XEON 2276 BIOS 1.31 OLED UHD 4K Multi-touch display, 96GB RAM, RTX5000, RAID 1, 1TB x 2 Samsung PM981, 1TB PM981, WWAN
P70 XEON 1505, BIOS 2.35, 4k Display, 64GB, M3000M NVIDIA GPU, RAID1 1TB Samsung PM981 PCIe-NVMe SSD x 2, 2x Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD. EM7455 WWAN
P1. BIOS 1.36,Xeon Processor, 4k UHD IPS multi-touch display, 32GB, PM981 1TB x 2, RAID1

I am not an employee nor an agent of Lenovo.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms