Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit our eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

21 Posts

01-13-2009

Panama

41 Signins

287 Page Views

  • Posts: 21
  • Registered: ‎01-13-2009
  • Location: Panama
  • Views: 287
  • Message 1 of 4

P71 with NVIDIA P4000 can't get 1920x1080 on 2 external monitors

2018-03-11, 16:17 PM

On my Thinkpad P71 with a NVIDIA Quadro P4000 I am trying to use 2 external Asus monitors that do 1920x1080 resolution.  I am doing this through a 230W dock using both full size Dispalyport connections going out to the HDMI connections on the monitors. When I go into Windows display properties or the Nvidia desktop utilities the highest resolutions I see available (after the 3840x2160 for the laptop display) are 1440x900.  I am using discreet video setting

How can I get 2 monitors to run at 1920x1080?

Thanks

 

Reply
Options

21 Posts

01-13-2009

Panama

41 Signins

287 Page Views

  • Posts: 21
  • Registered: ‎01-13-2009
  • Location: Panama
  • Views: 287
  • Message 2 of 4

Re: P71 with NVIDIA P4000 can't get 1920x1080 on 2 external monitors

2018-03-14, 23:07 PM
Reply
Options

25 Posts

07-21-2016

United States of America

30 Signins

308 Page Views

  • Posts: 25
  • Registered: ‎07-21-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 308
  • Message 3 of 4

Re: P71 with NVIDIA P4000 can't get 1920x1080 on 2 external monitors

2019-06-13, 20:01 PM
Did you ever find anything that worked? I ended up plugging the HDMI cord into the laptop and the DP into the DVI/DP bank of the dock. The best I could get otherwise was 2 @ 1600x900. Quadro M620
Reply
Options

11 Posts

07-01-2017

United States of America

17 Signins

159 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎07-01-2017
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 159
  • Message 4 of 4

Re: P71 with NVIDIA P4000 can't get 1920x1080 on 2 external monitors

2019-06-15, 17:49 PM

Be sure to close the laptop. The resolution will get confused if not. I was using the hdmi and display port, but I required both monitors to run at 4k. I kept 1 plugged into the hdmi on the dock, then used a thunderport/hdmi adapter cord from the laptop itself. Does the dock have a thunderport? If so, use that. My dock is a couple of years old, so they may be different now.

 

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms