VE

1 Signins

5 Page Views

• Views: 5
  • Message 1 of 3

System Security Tamper and BIOS password Lenovo P51

2020-09-18, 19:59 PM

Hi, nice to meet you guys.

I have been doing IT support for Lenovo's PCs 8 years ago. But, at this time, a get very stuck in this.

I have a P51 that shows me just after turn it on the following message: System Security - Bottom cover tamper detected. PRess ESC to continue (That's ok because I alreaddy got cover out).

But just after that, the system requires me a Fingerprint (it's ok, and my finger pass).

Later, the system requires me a PASSWORD or maybe a PIN, I think it is for the BIOS but I don't remember that. I just have the supervisor password, but that password doesn't work with it.

How Can I do to restore my BIOS settings, user PIN/password, and Tamper Advice?.

The machine doesn't let me get into the BIOS, I press F1, F2, F11, F12 but the only message that I get always is "System Security blablabla"

Support Lenovo doesn´t give me information about it. They only said to me "Give it to a service support agent".

I don't know but It should be a way to restore de BIOS setting with my Supervisor Password.

Please, help me. Thank you very much in advance.

PD: Attached you can see some pictures of the screen.

Options

11279 Posts

01-02-2010

US

39721 Signins

415368 Page Views

• Views: 415368
  • Message 2 of 3

Re:System Security Tamper and BIOS password Lenovo P51

2020-09-18, 23:26 PM

If you have a power-on password and a supervisor password and they are different, it will prompt for the power-on first.  If you hit ESC, it will let you in with just the supervisor PW.  If that isn't what's going on, you have forgotten the supervisor password

Rich

I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.