Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

16 Posts

03-19-2009

Pickerington, Ohio

28 Signins

278 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎03-19-2009
  • Location: Pickerington, Ohio
  • Views: 278
  • Message 1 of 5

Upgrade from Business 64 Bit to Ultimate 32 bit

2009-03-19, 17:56 PM
I have Business 64 bit on my W500 but my Seagate 1 TB external hard drive does not work on a 64 bit operating system. I want to change to 32 bit, any gotcha's, to be weary of?I own a copy of Windows Vista Ultimate that I think has both 32 and 64 bit on it. 
Reply
Options

39 Posts

01-08-2009

Islamabad, PK

166 Signins

752 Page Views

  • Posts: 39
  • Registered: ‎01-08-2009
  • Location: Islamabad, PK
  • Views: 752
  • Message 2 of 5

Re: Upgrade from Business 64 Bit to Ultimate 32 bit

2009-03-20, 11:06 AM

Are you completely sure that the external hard drive doesn't work on 64 bit systems? That's a pretty big shortcoming for Seagate, seeing as how 64 will probably be the standard OS in the near future, and not to mention just a huge pain in the neck just to make one hard drive work.


Anyway, it's rare to find both a 32 and a 64 version of any OS on one single disc.You might want to double check that.

 

Usually people have less compatibility issues with a 32 bit version, so you really don't have anything to worry about. The switch from 64 to 32 will only be an issue if you have more than 3 gigs of ram. Vista 32 bit can only recognize 3 gigs, whereas the 64 bit can recognize and use 4 gigs.


 So, if you currently have 4gigs of ram on your machine, it'll only show up as 3 on the 32 bit version and it'll only utilize 3 as well.

Rizwan A. Alvi
http://rizwanalvi.com
Reply
Options

16 Posts

03-19-2009

Pickerington, Ohio

28 Signins

278 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎03-19-2009
  • Location: Pickerington, Ohio
  • Views: 278
  • Message 3 of 5

Re: Upgrade from Business 64 Bit to Ultimate 32 bit

2009-03-20, 12:08 PM
I tried loading the seagate manager on the W500 and it would not load and statedit had to be 32 bit OS in order to work. I can manually load on the hard drive but none of the automatic routines like back up work.
Reply
Options

39 Posts

01-08-2009

Islamabad, PK

166 Signins

752 Page Views

  • Posts: 39
  • Registered: ‎01-08-2009
  • Location: Islamabad, PK
  • Views: 752
  • Message 4 of 5

Re: Upgrade from Business 64 Bit to Ultimate 32 bit

2009-03-20, 13:21 PM

Hmm... well, if it was me, I would stick with the 64 bit, but I do use 4gigs of ram. I suppose if I had 3gigs of ram or less, I wouldn't mind using the 32, as the 32 does work better with 3rd party apps (as you're finding out).

 

Here's what I suggest:

 

Forget about the Seagate software or autmated backup routines for now. Just plug in the thing and format it, and fill it as you please.

 

For things like backup, you can always use the Vista or XP functions, which do a decent job really. If you don't mind spending a little bit of money, 50 bucks will get you an amazing little backup program called  Acronis True Image (google it, first link that comes up). It works on any windows, 32 or 64, and I use it myself for personal and work use.

Rizwan A. Alvi
http://rizwanalvi.com
Reply
Options

16 Posts

03-19-2009

Pickerington, Ohio

28 Signins

278 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎03-19-2009
  • Location: Pickerington, Ohio
  • Views: 278
  • Message 5 of 5

Re: Upgrade from Business 64 Bit to Ultimate 32 bit

2009-03-20, 13:32 PM
Thanks
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms