Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

7 Posts

12-08-2008

Canberra

10 Signins

90 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎12-08-2008
  • Location: Canberra
  • Views: 90
  • Message 1 of 5

W500 Start-Up Resolution Problems

2008-12-08, 11:50 AM

Mdl:4062-A13, Latest Bios V1.19, latest Display Drivers 8.52.4.4 Vista Bus32

 

On Start-up the Notebook will flick to lower resolution for login and initial Vista start-up screen, as boot sequence continues the machine will finally settle on 1920x1200 and operate correctly. The problems is that my desktop icons are re-arranged because of the initial lower resolution. This is a real pain after every system shutdown or restart

Reply
Answer
Options

7 Posts

12-08-2008

Canberra

10 Signins

90 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎12-08-2008
  • Location: Canberra
  • Views: 90

Re: W500 Start-Up Resolution Problems

2008-12-09, 2:33 AM
Problem Fixed: Went to System BIOS and changed Display Settings to use Descrete and Disabled Switchable Graphics mode. I only want to use the ATI Card, and will most be running from in high performance mode anyway - battery life not an issue
Reply

Replies(4)
Options

102 Posts

09-11-2008

New Jersey

93 Signins

867 Page Views

  • Posts: 102
  • Registered: ‎09-11-2008
  • Location: New Jersey
  • Views: 867
  • Message 2 of 5

Re: W500 Start-Up Resolution Problems

2008-12-08, 14:09 PM

I have the same problem also unless I"m in the Energy Saving Graphics. I get the impression that when CCC loads it changes profiles, very bothersome.

 

Reply
Options

7 Posts

12-08-2008

Canberra

10 Signins

90 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎12-08-2008
  • Location: Canberra
  • Views: 90
  • Message 3 of 5

Re: W500 Start-Up Resolution Problems

2008-12-09, 1:36 AM

Perhaps the problem is arising in the driver for either the ATI driver or the Lenovo Switchable graphics driver. In economy mode the W500 uses the onboard Intel Mobile Express Graphics? In high performance mode it uses the ATI Card - or am I a nube and they are one in the same?

Reply
Answer
Options

7 Posts

12-08-2008

Canberra

10 Signins

90 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎12-08-2008
  • Location: Canberra
  • Views: 90
  • Message 4 of 5

Re: W500 Start-Up Resolution Problems

2008-12-09, 2:33 AM
Problem Fixed: Went to System BIOS and changed Display Settings to use Descrete and Disabled Switchable Graphics mode. I only want to use the ATI Card, and will most be running from in high performance mode anyway - battery life not an issue

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

15 Posts

12-31-2008

Chicago

26 Signins

445 Page Views

  • Posts: 15
  • Registered: ‎12-31-2008
  • Location: Chicago
  • Views: 445
  • Message 5 of 5

Re: W500 Start-Up Resolution Problems

2009-01-28, 22:51 PM
I tried changing BIOS to disable Switchable Graphics and left Discrete Graphics enabled, as indicated in the Solution to this thread. However, my display icons still will be randomly rearranged. I drag them back to where I want them, but eventually they will rearrange again. Any other ideas?

Thanks.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms