Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

16 Posts

11-08-2008

ny

18 Signins

157 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎11-08-2008
  • Location: ny
  • Views: 157
  • Message 1 of 4

W500 vista switchable graphics not working

2009-03-26, 22:39 PM

Hi I had been runing xp on my computer until it incountered problems and needed to be sent in for service.  When I got my laptop back it had vista on it.  Lenovo is sending xp but in the mean time I need to use vista. 

 

My ati graphics card is not working.  Most screen savers will not run because the gaphics card can not support them so I am assuming that it is the internal card.  I have tryed turning off switchable graphics and turning on just the deticated card.  Same problems.  I also tryed to update the drivers but downloading and manually installing but I got stuck in a bsod loop. 

 

Any ideas? 

Reply
Options

198 Posts

06-26-2008

Warszawa, Poland

1383 Signins

4928 Page Views

  • Posts: 198
  • Registered: ‎06-26-2008
  • Location: Warszawa, Poland
  • Views: 4928
  • Message 2 of 4

Re: W500 vista switchable graphics not working

2009-03-26, 23:27 PM
You assume that the cards isn't working because screensavers doesn't work? Seems like they should work on both cards anyway. It is not clear from your post - can you access switchable graphics menu and switch back and forth between 'high performance' and 'energy saving'? What driver are you using? You can check it in Catalyst Control center. The latest driver is here  -http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?sitestyle=lenovo&lndocid=MIGR-71851
--
T540 i7 4700MQ, GT 730M, 8GB RAM, Win7
Reply
Options

16 Posts

11-08-2008

ny

18 Signins

157 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎11-08-2008
  • Location: ny
  • Views: 157
  • Message 3 of 4

Re: W500 vista switchable graphics not working

2009-03-27, 0:09 AM
I cannot access switchable graphics menu and switch back and forth between 'high performance' and 'energy saving'.   I can not find anything labeled ati on my computer.  Under device manager both are listed as standatd vga Graphics datapter.  One has an code 10 cannot start error. 
Reply
Options

16 Posts

11-08-2008

ny

18 Signins

157 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎11-08-2008
  • Location: ny
  • Views: 157
  • Message 4 of 4

Re: W500 vista switchable graphics not working

2009-03-27, 0:18 AM
when I click your link i get :

There is a problem retrieving the document MIGR-71851.

 

Also the driver listed under the card that gives an error is from 2006 so it is probably the wrong one. 

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms