Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

1 Posts

08-07-2012

Phoenix

3 Signins

11 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎08-07-2012
  • Location: Phoenix
  • Views: 11
  • Message 21 of 29

Re: W520 mSATA SSD

2012-08-07, 3:01 AM

Be very careful installing a mSATA drive and making it the primary boot drive if you clone an existing drive.  I have been living a nightmare with Crucial and Lenovo support on how to accomplish this Herculean feat.  Neither organization seems to be equipped to help support this solution. I'm now finding out that you can't clone to a mSATA drive across the bus. You need to take your existing drive out of the laptop and then use a specialized product calls EXGIG that requires a special cable to clone the drive.  Of course this took 10 phone calls and I have yet to get the correct product from Crucial

Reply
Options

325 Posts

05-13-2012

United States

1260 Signins

5595 Page Views

  • Posts: 325
  • Registered: ‎05-13-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 5595
  • Message 22 of 29

Re: W520 mSATA SSD

2012-08-07, 3:24 AM

Tim,

 

    I found this to be an easy task. As I've posted elsewhere, I backed up, not cloned, my HDD in the primary bay, using Acronis True Image 2012 to an external eSATA/USB 3.0 hard drive. Then I restored the image to the installed mSATA SSD. It has been working fine, fast, and is well aligned.


       I did not remove either drive i.e. SSD or HDD.  No special cable was required.

 

       That being said, my mSATA SSD is the ADATA 256GB, not the Crucial. Can the procedure be that different?

 

       Here again are the two articles you might want to review:

 

Migrate to SSD

 

Checking SSD alignment

 

 

Reply
Options

22 Posts

03-23-2012

Italia

195 Signins

1027 Page Views

  • Posts: 22
  • Registered: ‎03-23-2012
  • Location: Italia
  • Views: 1027
  • Message 23 of 29

Re: W520 mSATA SSD

2012-09-11, 19:36 PM

I suggest who is looking for a solution to read the following post of Roman Berry on:

 

http://www.howtogeek.com/97242/how-to-migrate-windows-7-to-a-solid-state-drive/

 

Roman Berry
 

Wow. This article makes things way harder than they need be. I’m not sure if the folks at The Geek are aware of this, but Windows 7 is fully SSD aware. Fully. That means that awareness extends to the Windows 7 backup and restore utility and its built in disk image function. You can try and verify for yourself, but I promise that this is a true thing. What this means is that if you are migrating an existing Windows 7 installation from a standard hard disk to an SSD, you do NOT need Clonezilla or EaseUS Partition Manager, and you do NOT need to use diskpart to align the partitions. Really.

 

After reading this article I was filled with doubt about what I thought I knew, so I set about verifying that what I thought I knew was right. And here’s what I thought I knew (and have verified to be so.)

 

A Windows 7 system image generated by the Windows 7 backup and restore utility from a Windows 7 installation on a standard hard disk is properly aligned automatically when that image is used to migrate/restore the Windows 7 OS to a solid state disc.

 

How did I verify this? Well, I checked the Dell Latitude E6500 that sits on my desk which was set up in exactly this way. Partitions are aligned properly. Then I called a friend for whom I had just a few weeks ago migrated an existing Windows 7 installation from a Western Digital Scorpio Black 320 gig drive to a Samsung 470 SSD just a few weeks ago and had him check the partition offset. It was perfect. (1048576.) And then I checked half a dozen assorted other laptops and desktops I had migrated from spinning hard disks to SSDs using Win 7′s own backup and restore generated system image and in each and every case the SSD was aligned properly.

 

If you have Win 7, you don’t need Clonezilla or EaseUS or Acronis or Ghost. All you need is Win 7. Boot with the Wi n 7 OS DVD or a recovery disc and restore the system image to the new drive. That’s it. Check for yourself.

 

The advice on things like defrag? Good advice, but you don’t need Defraggler or any third party software for that either. Win 7′s defrag consolidates free space. You can verify this by running Win 7′s defrag from as an admin from the command prompt. (CMD–>run as administrator) Run defrag /c /u /v

 

Yes, clear all the temp files. Disable hibernation. Reduce the swap file (but don’t turn it off completely.) Run Win 7′s defrag from the command prompt. Shrink the partition (if needed to make it fit on the new SSD.) Generate a system image on an external USB or eSATA (if your system supports booting with eSATA) drive. Install your SSD and restore the system image. That’s it.

 

One more thing…

 

Anyone wanting to verify the partition offset for their disk can certainly fire up diskpart and go through the steps to get to the info they are looking for, or they can skip a step or two and use one of these methods:

 

At the command line, type (or copy and paste) the following (and hit enter): wmic partition get BlockSize, StartingOffset, Name, Index

 

Or just type MSINFO32 in the search box from the start menu, hit enter and when MSINFO32 runs, go to components–>storage–>disks and read down the list until you see “partition staring offset.” If that offset is 1048576 on your SSD, you’re golden.

 

 

 

It works !  I replaced my W520 original hard disk by a Crucial m4 512 GB SSD (model CT512M4SSD2 )

 

 

 

 

Reply
Options

325 Posts

05-13-2012

United States

1260 Signins

5595 Page Views

  • Posts: 325
  • Registered: ‎05-13-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 5595
  • Message 24 of 29

Re: W520 mSATA SSD

2012-09-12, 12:01 PM

I'm stunned. Thanks so much for this post. I've learned something new.

Reply
Options

22 Posts

03-23-2012

Italia

195 Signins

1027 Page Views

  • Posts: 22
  • Registered: ‎03-23-2012
  • Location: Italia
  • Views: 1027
  • Message 25 of 29

Re: W520 mSATA SSD

2012-09-13, 19:36 PM

You are welcome. The procedure is very simple.

Reply
Options

88 Posts

06-27-2009

S. Cal.

450 Signins

1312 Page Views

  • Posts: 88
  • Registered: ‎06-27-2009
  • Location: S. Cal.
  • Views: 1312
  • Message 26 of 29

Re: W520 mSATA SSD

2012-12-21, 15:50 PM
The only trick I have learned over the installations in my 3 machines of 5 SSDs is that if you are cloning do it from out to in. In other words the drive being cloned needs to be in Drive 0 slot. Either inside the laptop or in Drive 0 in the desktop enclosure. I have drive caddy's for my W520 and did not clone my X220 mSata because the OS was already in the installed SSD. I just started using it for addtl storage. I have used Acronis 2011 for all of mine but now use 2013.
Perry
W550s I5 QHCD, W520, I7 2720QM, M4 512 GB SSD OS/Program Disk, C300 256 GB Data Disk in Ultrabay Caddy; X220, I7 2620, Samsung 256 GB SSD, Intel 310 mSata Drv, T61, ancient but working, Asus MoBo, I7 2600k overclocked
Reply
Options

1 Posts

06-12-2013

Danmark

1 Signins

12 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎06-12-2013
  • Location: Danmark
  • Views: 12
  • Message 27 of 29

Re: W520 mSATA SSD

2013-06-12, 20:16 PM

Hi

 

Just got a cheap w520 and wanted a budget upgrade of the harddrive so I installed a Kingston SSDNow mS200 120 GB because it was the cheapest 100G+ msata I could find.

 

Worked with it a couple of days now and I am very happy with it.

 

The boot time went from 60 secs to 22 secs on an identical setup (7200rpm, Windows fully updated but hardly used).

 

A sata III drive in the main bay, may be even better but would be much more expensive (I can still use the gigs on the old drive for storage and I need the DVD).

 

I made a restore disk (5*4.7 DVD's!) and shifted the boot device and installed. Time consuming but reliable.

The disk usage on the 120G ssd after the automated installation: 3 partitions: 1.46G(system), 94.7(Windows), 15.62 (Lenovo Rec). Usable: about 50G on the Win-drive, which is acceptable but certainly not lavish.

 

Note: removing the keyboard was a hassle - making some scratches, so be carefull! But after the first removal it has been easy to remove again.

 

Hope it helps somebody.

 

System: Intel Core i5-2540M 2,6GHz, 8G ram, 120G mSATA ssd, 320G HDD. 2G NVIDIA QUATRO 1000.

Reply
Options

8 Posts

03-27-2013

Austria

12 Signins

123 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎03-27-2013
  • Location: Austria
  • Views: 123
  • Message 28 of 29

Betreff: W520 mSATA 256GB installed

2013-09-19, 7:22 AM

@ SSDee

 

How is it going with your ADATA mSata? I followed this thread for a while and decided to install a ADATA mSata 256 - SX300 to my system. The first SSD was lasting about three month. I got a warning in the middle of a workflow - the system was freezing and the controller of the SSD was gone. Luckily I had the old system still on board of the 500 GB HDD in the primary bay.

 

So after some days I got a new SSD shipped by the support. I did a clean new setup with Win7 and the system was running fine for a while. Yesterday the system was not booting again - so I am thinking... I might have some settings wrong.

Do I have to change any settings in the Bios or somewhere else?

I would be happy for any advices. Thanks.

 

System:

W520 I7- 2780 QM, 12 GB; BIOS 1.42; MSata ADATA SX300 256 GB ; 500 GB HDD

Reply
Options

2 Posts

09-03-2016

Russian Federation

1 Signins

37 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎09-03-2016
  • Location: Russian Federation
  • Views: 37
  • Message 29 of 29

Re: W520 mSATA SSD

2016-09-03, 16:36 PM

Just got a Kingston ms200 240GB mSATA but BIOS 1.42 of my w520 (the latest version) doesn't see it in Boot menu item, just in Network boot menu item. Great!

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms