Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

11 Posts

10-20-2014

Mexico

21 Signins

95 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎10-20-2014
  • Location: Mexico
  • Views: 95
  • Message 11 of 18

Re: W520 rendered useless by ancient drivers

2014-11-11, 21:57 PM

You know what... it might be the INTEL display drivers since those might still be rendering the OS dialog boxes and causing the crashyness.

 

Wow... trying this RIGHT NOW!!!!

 

Also... The "maya legacy" setting has proven to be slightly more stable.

 

Disabling "fast previews" and setting window to final quality in Ae has alowed ELEMENT to run; but since it has to render everything 1:1 it's a bit slow in complex scenes.

 

Wiill update on further drivers.

Reply
Options

525 Posts

03-11-2009

Chicago, IL

300 Signins

14180 Page Views

  • Posts: 525
  • Registered: ‎03-11-2009
  • Location: Chicago, IL
  • Views: 14180
  • Message 12 of 18

Re: W520 rendered useless by ancient drivers

2014-11-14, 13:46 PM

I have found the 340.52 drivers from Nvidia to be fairly stable. You might want to try that set along with the latest Intel drivers that work.

Chris

Reply
Options

11 Posts

10-20-2014

Mexico

21 Signins

95 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎10-20-2014
  • Location: Mexico
  • Views: 95
  • Message 13 of 18

Re: W520 rendered useless by ancient drivers

2014-11-20, 0:00 AM

Yeah... cleaned and switched over to 340.52

 

Cinema is more stable.. kinda; not realy.

 

And element has pretty much given up. check out the video!!!

 

w520 crash Youtube

 

 

Reply
Options

9644 Posts

12-27-2009

Canada

3313 Signins

95283 Page Views

  • Posts: 9644
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2009
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 95283
  • Message 14 of 18

Re: W520 rendered useless by ancient drivers

2014-11-20, 5:00 AM

340.52 is still really old. I'm running 344.65 right now. 344.75 is out already.


W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Reply
Options

11 Posts

10-20-2014

Mexico

21 Signins

95 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎10-20-2014
  • Location: Mexico
  • Views: 95
  • Message 15 of 18

Re: W520 rendered useless by ancient drivers

2014-11-20, 6:31 AM

Yeah... I reverted to 340.52 as recommended some posts back. In the video i said latest wich is incorrect. I should have said "more stable drivers in cinema".

 

Either way... element is dying on me. :'(

Reply
Options

9644 Posts

12-27-2009

Canada

3313 Signins

95283 Page Views

  • Posts: 9644
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2009
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 95283
  • Message 16 of 18

Re: W520 rendered useless by ancient drivers

2014-11-20, 13:52 PM
Yeah I dunno. It might be some strange combination of software that's causing it to bug out unexpectedly.

Maybe let NVIDIA know?

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Reply
Options

11 Posts

10-20-2014

Mexico

21 Signins

95 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎10-20-2014
  • Location: Mexico
  • Views: 95
  • Message 17 of 18

Re: W520 rendered useless by ancient drivers

2014-11-21, 0:15 AM

I got it to work!

 

It's  rather inelegant and messed up but I found a way to get Element 3d working on my belaguered w520.

 

It involves maximizing some panel in AE, check ou the video:

Element 3d workaround

Reply
Options

9644 Posts

12-27-2009

Canada

3313 Signins

95283 Page Views

  • Posts: 9644
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2009
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 95283
  • Message 18 of 18

Re: W520 rendered useless by ancient drivers

2014-11-21, 16:42 PM
Weird. Try toggling the "Enable overlay" option in NVIDIA Control Panel?

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms