Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

17 Posts

11-22-2008

Japan

25 Signins

309 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎11-22-2008
  • Location: Japan
  • Views: 309
  • Message 1 of 19

W700 (2757) Raid Setup Configrations

2008-12-09, 6:19 AM

Hi i have the Folliwing LAPTOP:

 

W700 (2757CTO)

Vista 64bit (Ultimate)

2XHDD X 160GB / 7200rpm

2GM Turbomemory

and all extra stuff like: Wacom digit../ Blue Ray/ 4 GB RAM/ Q9300 Extreem Quadro/  etc.

Also update the BIOS to V 1.09

 

Trouble:

When i  enabnle RAID in BIOS setup utility from AHCI >RAID  during windows boot screen it suddenly goes blue screen and than restart.

I have Tried it all three possible ways:

1. Just only Enable RAID with out seting up RAID in the Intel Matrix RAID configuration menue (only Enable in BIOS)

2. Enable it BIOS than "F10" than "Ctrl I" in the Intel Matrix Screen Setup to "RAID 0" it ask me all data will be lost accepted it than restarted my LAPTOP used Recovery CDs the one i created from my LAPTOP Vista 64bit, after completing the setup it says sucessfully done restarts the Computer and than at the and same this, during windows bootup screen Blue Screen and restart. i tried to capture the error but it so fat restarting and unable to use the "Pause Break" button to see the error code.

3. Every thing same as in # 2 but this time i set it to "RAID1". result is the 100% same.

 

Your response to this will be highly appriciated.

 

Reply
Answer
Options

132 Posts

11-29-2007

RTP, NC

141 Signins

1978 Page Views

  • Posts: 132
  • Registered: ‎11-29-2007
  • Location: RTP, NC
  • Views: 1978

Re: W700 (2757) Raid Setup Configurations

2009-06-12, 19:37 PM

Sampei,

 

Sorry, I don't make it onto the forums very often due to my work schedule. 

 

It was true at the early release stage of the W700 that Turbo Memory was not supported with the RAID option enabled.  In fact, you did not have the option to purchase both options together...it was one or the other.

 

Since the release of version (1.7.0.1029-8.6.0.1007) for the Turbo Memory driver, RAID is supported.  This thread began before this driver was released, so you should not have a problem now.

 

Regards

 

Reply

Replies(18)
Options

132 Posts

11-29-2007

RTP, NC

141 Signins

1978 Page Views

  • Posts: 132
  • Registered: ‎11-29-2007
  • Location: RTP, NC
  • Views: 1978
  • Message 2 of 19

Re: W700 (2757) Raid Setup Configrations

2008-12-09, 16:34 PM

nomi_000,

 

You cannot have Turbo Memory and RAID configured at the same time.....it is one or the other.  This is a current limitation of the Intel Matrix Storage Driver that I hope will be addressed soon.

 

This is why the Lenovo sales website will not allow you to configure a system with RAID and Turbo Memory together.  So the most likely scenario is you configured your system at the time of purchase with "Internal RAID" not enabled.

 

If you want to setup RAID on your system, you will first need to remove the Turbo Memory chip.

 

Sorry for the inconvenience!

 

Regards

 

 

 

Reply
Options

17 Posts

11-22-2008

Japan

25 Signins

309 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎11-22-2008
  • Location: Japan
  • Views: 309
  • Message 3 of 19

Re: W700 (2757) Raid Setup Configrations

2008-12-09, 17:13 PM

So when i Remove the Turbo Memory after can i install the memory Back once Raid is configured. and to install the turbo memory is it simply plug it in and out or there are any kind of Configurations ?

 

 

Reply
Options

132 Posts

11-29-2007

RTP, NC

141 Signins

1978 Page Views

  • Posts: 132
  • Registered: ‎11-29-2007
  • Location: RTP, NC
  • Views: 1978
  • Message 4 of 19

Re: W700 (2757) Raid Setup Configrations

2008-12-09, 17:37 PM

Again, you need to decide which configuration you want.....Turbo Memory or RAID.

 

It is one or the other.....they cannot currently coexist.

 

Consult the HMM (section 1130, pg 88) for instructions on Turbo Memory removal:

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?sitestyle=lenovo&lndocid=MIGR-70385

 

Regards

 

Reply
Options

17 Posts

11-22-2008

Japan

25 Signins

309 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎11-22-2008
  • Location: Japan
  • Views: 309
  • Message 5 of 19

Re: W700 (2757) Raid Setup Configurations

2009-01-08, 21:11 PM

Hi there, Any news on Raid Setup while the Turbo memory is installed on W700 (2757). I tried to open the machine to detach the Memory but it is very sophisticated so I gave up and decided to wait un till the driver are released, I also have come across some kind of information saying:

    (For those with SSD drives the benefits would be marginal or non-existent (guessing here). Note also that Turbo Memory is now compatible with ICH9M RAID mode of W700, see summary of changes section for Turbo Memory driver here http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... MIGR-67820 ). But clicking on this MIGR-67820 and down loading the Turbo memory drivers Version 1.7.0.1029-8.6.0.1007 it doest not stop the blue screen issue.

I will really be great full if you have any news related to this or any of your friends.

Reply
Options

13 Posts

02-05-2008

Denmark

46 Signins

198 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎02-05-2008
  • Location: Denmark
  • Views: 198
  • Message 6 of 19

Re: W700 (2757) Raid Setup Configurations

2009-01-20, 15:11 PM

Hi,

I'm having very similar problems! Do anybody know if disabling the turbo-memory (by driver? or removal?) solves the issue?

 

Some where on the internet i read a solution where I

 

1.installed (or ghosted) the image onto a drive in the utrabay.

2. installed the raid-driver

3. made the raid-set on the two drives and bios

4. ghosted the image back to the raid-set

 

The problem here is that the driver dosen't work / or let it self install. When the sata is enabled in bios the driver cannot be installed (no raid controller in the device magement). When the raid option is enabled the i get a bluescreen before startup of windows vista.

 

What to do?

-----

Christian Gundersen
Denmark

X61s - type 1707-z2x
Reply
Options

13 Posts

02-05-2008

Denmark

46 Signins

198 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎02-05-2008
  • Location: Denmark
  • Views: 198
  • Message 7 of 19

Re: W700 (2757) Raid Setup Configurations

2009-01-21, 12:57 PM

Just tried to un-install the Intel Turbo memory, and the result was the same :-(

In this case there was no connection between the raid-setup and the turbo memory.

-----

Christian Gundersen
Denmark

X61s - type 1707-z2x
Reply
Options

9380 Posts

11-27-2007

Slovakia

15518 Signins

2040239 Page Views

  • Posts: 9380
  • Registered: ‎11-27-2007
  • Location: Slovakia
  • Views: 2040239
  • Message 8 of 19

Re: W700 (2757) Raid Setup Configurations

2009-01-21, 20:10 PM

cvg wrote:

Just tried to un-install the Intel Turbo memory, and the result was the same :-(

In this case there was no connection between the raid-setup and the turbo memory.


Have you physically removed the Turbo-Memory, as Icepick stated, or just uninstalled it in windows?

Andy  

______________________________________


Please remember to come back and mark the post that you feel solved your question as the solution, it earns the member + points

Did you find a post helpfull? You can thank the member by clicking on the star to the left awarding them Kudos

Please add your type, model number and OS to your signature, it helps to help you.

Forum Search Option T430 2347-G7U W8 x64, Yoga 10 HD+, Tablet 1838-2BG, T61p 6460-67G W7 x64, T43p 2668-G2G XP, T23 2647-9LG XP, plus a few more.

FYI Unsolicited Personal Messages will be ignored.

de.gif  Deutsche Community   es.gif  Comunidad en Español  uk.gif  English Community ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

PepperonI blog 

Reply
Options

17 Posts

11-22-2008

Japan

25 Signins

309 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎11-22-2008
  • Location: Japan
  • Views: 309
  • Message 9 of 19

Re: W700 (2757) Raid Setup Configurations

2009-03-17, 19:29 PM

Hi there,

 I took the trouble of unscrewing my w700 and removed the turbo memory physically, than installed OS using my Recovery CDs but there is no luck. It still shows the blue screen on start up and than restarts. I have tried it .

Reply
Options

13 Posts

02-05-2008

Denmark

46 Signins

198 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎02-05-2008
  • Location: Denmark
  • Views: 198
  • Message 10 of 19

Re: W700 (2757) Raid Setup Configurations

2009-03-18, 8:26 AM

Hi Andy,

I did indeed psychically remove the turbo-memory, and the problem was the same.

 

 - Chris

-----

Christian Gundersen
Denmark

X61s - type 1707-z2x
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms