Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

57 Posts

08-19-2011

Chicago

33 Signins

169 Page Views

  • Posts: 57
  • Registered: ‎08-19-2011
  • Location: Chicago
  • Views: 169
  • Message 1 of 5

WLAN will not connect to unsecure network - but will to others

2011-09-15, 20:11 PM

W510

Win7 Pro (64bit)

Ultimate N-6300 AGN

 

I am at a client site and am trying to connect to the "Guest" wireless b/g network. I created a location profile for both wired & wireless. When I pull the plug, I get "cannot connect" error (# 229378) . The unit is in wireless range. This system connects everywhere else just fine. Is there some question I need to ask the client's sysadmin about why it does not connect - unsecure?

Reply
Options

47 Posts

07-30-2011

North Carolina

273 Signins

1575 Page Views

  • Posts: 47
  • Registered: ‎07-30-2011
  • Location: North Carolina
  • Views: 1575
  • Message 2 of 5

Re: WLAN will not connect to unsecure network - but will to others

2011-09-16, 2:53 AM

I am at a client site and am trying to connect to the "Guest" wireless b/g network. I created a location profile for both wired & wireless. When I pull the plug, I get "cannot connect" error (# 229378) . The unit is in wireless range. This system connects everywhere else just fine. Is there some question I need to ask the client's sysadmin about why it does not connect - unsecure?


Not clear if you are connecting to a secure or unsecure network, but a WEP/WPA key, router PIN, or direct sysadmin intervention would be required for a secured network.  It is also possible that MAC filtering could be used (meaning the sysadmin would have to "whitelist" your MAC address), but if wired was working probably not the case --- remember that wired and wireless each have their own MAC address.  Would be odd to have such filtering on a guest network (and speaking as a former net admin, a PITA on any network).

 

What software is giving you the error number?  In my experience, W7 usually just fails with no apparent reason (event log?).  If you are using Intel Proset or Lenovo's Access Manager, consider letting W7 manage your connections.  I have never found any added value from vendor bloatware network management.  Solutions looking for a problem.  Since you mention "profiles", I assume you are using something other than W7 net management.


 

W520 | FHD | i7-2720QM | 8GB RAM | nVidia Quadro 1000M | Intel 510 120GB SSD | Seagate 7200rpm 500GB HDD
T510 | 1366x768 | i7-M620@2.67Ghz | 8GB RAM | nVidia NVS 3100M | Seagate 7200rpm 500GB HDD
T61p | 1920x1200 | T7800@2.6Ghz | 4gb RAM | nVidia Quadro FX 570M | Hitachi 320GB HDD | (broken frame, now a file server)
Reply
Options

57 Posts

08-19-2011

Chicago

33 Signins

169 Page Views

  • Posts: 57
  • Registered: ‎08-19-2011
  • Location: Chicago
  • Views: 169
  • Message 3 of 5

Re: WLAN will not connect to unsecure network - but will to others

2011-09-16, 13:53 PM

This is an unsecure network and I did work with the sysadmin. He cannot figure it out either. We did get W7 to connect once but after a reboot bot W7 and Access Connections fail.

 

Other people get it so I am puzzled. I am going back to the sysadmin to see what might be going on with the AP infrastructure.

Reply
Options

47 Posts

07-30-2011

North Carolina

273 Signins

1575 Page Views

  • Posts: 47
  • Registered: ‎07-30-2011
  • Location: North Carolina
  • Views: 1575
  • Message 4 of 5

Re: WLAN will not connect to unsecure network - but will to others

2011-09-16, 14:05 PM

This is an unsecure network and I did work with the sysadmin. He cannot figure it out either. We did get W7 to connect once but after a reboot bot W7 and Access Connections fail.

 

Other people get it so I am puzzled. I am going back to the sysadmin to see what might be going on with the AP infrastructure.


Sorry, I was focused on the message and missed that big "unsecure" in the subject line.

 

Not sure what to tell you but my experience is that Access Connections overcomplicates a very simple thing for no good reason.  Unless you have a compelling need for it, I would dump it.  I used it for a while because the thing about remembering which printers were on which network seemed cool, but it never really worked right and W7 does that for you now.

 

Does anyone know if there is a GPO that would prohibit connecting to an unsecure network?  Sounds like this may be a corporate laptop.

 

jwlenz: have you connected to other unsecure networks?

W520 | FHD | i7-2720QM | 8GB RAM | nVidia Quadro 1000M | Intel 510 120GB SSD | Seagate 7200rpm 500GB HDD
T510 | 1366x768 | i7-M620@2.67Ghz | 8GB RAM | nVidia NVS 3100M | Seagate 7200rpm 500GB HDD
T61p | 1920x1200 | T7800@2.6Ghz | 4gb RAM | nVidia Quadro FX 570M | Hitachi 320GB HDD | (broken frame, now a file server)
Reply
Options

57 Posts

08-19-2011

Chicago

33 Signins

169 Page Views

  • Posts: 57
  • Registered: ‎08-19-2011
  • Location: Chicago
  • Views: 169
  • Message 5 of 5

Re: WLAN will not connect to unsecure network - but will to others

2011-09-16, 14:20 PM

I did piggyback on an unsecure network at my sister's house since she does not have Internet access. So this W7 machine (under Access Connections) does connect unsecure.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms