Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

31 Posts

07-16-2008

USA

57 Signins

340 Page Views

  • Posts: 31
  • Registered: ‎07-16-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 340
  • Message 1 of 15

What a Nightmare W500

2008-09-04, 20:07 PM
Received my new W500 today, after waiting 4 weeks.
Only problem isL
1) the wrong graphics cared was installed (a hybrid between intell graphics chip and ati 3650 hd, and not the V5700 as indicated on my order and the lenovo site)
2) the bluetooth and ATT card that I ordered were not installed.
3) The sales rep i bought from does not return my calls or my emails.

So i have been on the phone with lenovo for over 3 hours trying to get this resolved before the lenovo sales person hangs up on me. What type of stand behind our product policy is this?

p
Reply
Options

16 Posts

08-18-2008

Minneapolis

32 Signins

189 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎08-18-2008
  • Location: Minneapolis
  • Views: 189
  • Message 2 of 15

Re: What a Nightmare W500

2008-09-11, 1:00 AM

I just bought basically the same setup and encountered the same problems.

you reinstalled your OS didn't you?

here's my impression of whats going on  (some of this may be wrong)

1) The 3650 hd is the same as the V5700. there just isn't a driver developed for it yet; The Integrated graphics are probably just included with it (im not sure why they don't say that in the specs) 

 

2a) the bluetooth panel is installed. but there are no drivers for it.

2b) The ATT card is in the computer by default i believe, there is a spot for the SIM card behind the battery i think. there may also be a lack of drivers for this.

 

3) yeah, can't help you there.

 

 

Hope this helps.

Im in the same boat, so look around for my message threads if you want more info.

Reply
Options

8095 Posts

11-19-2007

United States of America

10101 Signins

400183 Page Views

  • Posts: 8095
  • Registered: ‎11-19-2007
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 400183
  • Message 3 of 15

Re: What a Nightmare W500

2008-09-11, 5:22 AM

MaxPower57, Hawaiidream,

 

Could you both confirm whether you are running the preload, or did a fresh install?   Max, by some of your other posts, I'm guessing business 64 or ultimate vista 64 bit?

 

Could you both shoot me a PM with your model type and serial numbers?  I'd like to look into some of the driver / config issues.

 

Lastly, Hawaiidream, if you are still having trouble reaching sales, please let me know your order # and I'll try to get you some help.

 

Mark

Reply
Options

31 Posts

07-16-2008

USA

57 Signins

340 Page Views

  • Posts: 31
  • Registered: ‎07-16-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 340
  • Message 4 of 15

Re: What a Nightmare W500

2008-09-11, 12:30 PM

Mark:

The Os is what came with the laptop, ultimate 32.

I returned the first laptop and received a new one within 1 week, for that i am suprised and pleased.

The new laptop had the ATT integrated card installed (as well as the sim) and the bluetooth as well.  However, the same graphics config was there.

 

I spoke to at least 5 tech people, including 2 "tech supervisors" on the graphics issue.  The last tech person i spoke to (not a supervisor)  was patient and researched the situation while i was on the phone and after about 20 minnutes of searching and reading could not find an answer, but theorized that the V5700 was i nthe machine but that ATI had not provided lenovo withthe drivers to identify it as such.  I spoke to ATI, who makes the card, and they pretty much hinted that this is the case (they could not comment on drivers they provide to OEMs).

 

So i kept the second laptop, the specs of the card using the ATI software appear to match those advertised for the V5700 (ie, 512 VRAM, and DDR3 mem), but still identifies the card as 3650.....

 

What gets me is lenovo has not informed its line people as to what is in the machine...

 

So my real questions are:

1) will there be a driver update for this card?

2) because this includes hte integrated intel graphics chip, does the motherboard have a FSB of 1067 as advertized?

 

 

And BTW, my sales person, through all off this, has not returned any of my phone calls and emails....all of this needed to be pursued by me and took over 6 hours on the phone... 

Reply
Options

102 Posts

09-11-2008

New Jersey

93 Signins

867 Page Views

  • Posts: 102
  • Registered: ‎09-11-2008
  • Location: New Jersey
  • Views: 867
  • Message 5 of 15

Not so bad

2008-09-11, 18:35 PM

My laptop came pre-installed with Windows XP and all the ATI drivers worked great.  I did a clean install to Vista 64 Ultimate last night  and can not find a way to get the ATI Drivers to install so I am stuck at the lower resolution for now. Luckly, I put used a seperate hard drive to install the Vista 64 because I noticed Lenovo did not send any restore disks to reload any of the software that came with the system.  Also I noticed that I have a few errors with BTTray.exe cannot locate BtBalloon.dll and a few Rundll32 stop working on start up.

 

Still, a amazing machine so far but will like to get all the drivers working correctly with Vista 64 I rather use that then XP.

Reply
Options

132 Posts

11-29-2007

RTP, NC

141 Signins

1978 Page Views

  • Posts: 132
  • Registered: ‎11-29-2007
  • Location: RTP, NC
  • Views: 1978
  • Message 6 of 15

Re: Not so bad

2008-09-11, 22:40 PM

xpnet,

 

Try these drivers...

 

ATI:

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?sitestyle=lenovo&lndocid=MIGR-70417

 

Bluetooth:

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?sitestyle=lenovo&lndocid=MIGR-70042

 

Be sure to follow the instructions (i.e. uninstalling previous drivers).

 

Regards

 

Reply
Options

16 Posts

08-18-2008

Minneapolis

32 Signins

189 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎08-18-2008
  • Location: Minneapolis
  • Views: 189
  • Message 7 of 15

Re: Not so bad

2008-09-11, 23:00 PM

I clean installed Vista x64 ultimate

Thinkpad w500 4058 CTO

 

Reply
Options

16 Posts

08-18-2008

Minneapolis

32 Signins

189 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎08-18-2008
  • Location: Minneapolis
  • Views: 189
  • Message 8 of 15

Re: Not so bad

2008-09-11, 23:44 PM

I got the bluetooth working,

the device is disabled by default. if the connection manager is installed youcan hit Fn+F5 to enable it.

still working on the graphics card. The catalyst control center is installed, but when it is run it tells me that the current graphics card is not supported.

If this does have hybrid graphics, how do I switch between the two?

 

Thanks

 

 

Note: I tried these instructions could not find the switchable graphics label

 

 

Note: It is recommended to close any graphics settings utility such as ATI Catalyst Control Center or Intel Customer User Interface before switching between different performance modes.

  1. In the Task Bar, left click the battery guage. A pop-up window will open.
  2. In the pop-up window, mouse over 'Switchable Graphics'.
  3. Select 'High Performance' or 'Energy Saving' depending on what mode you prefer. A 'Power Manager' window will open. Click Yes to proceed.


 

EDIT: I found the switchable graphics panel, but now when i click that a note pops up that says it cannot enable switchable graphics until all programs are closed and monitors are disconnected.

I have *no* programs open and there are no monitors attached.

Is there something else I need to do?

Message Edited by Maxpower57 on 09-11-2008 04:57 PM
Message Edited by Maxpower57 on 09-11-2008 06:28 PM
Reply
Options

17 Posts

10-02-2008

USA

42 Signins

326 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎10-02-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 326
  • Message 9 of 15

Re: Not so bad

2008-10-02, 8:01 AM

I have the same problem. But, when I left-click on the battery icon in the taskbar, it doesn't show me the Switchable graphics option. Also, when I try launch the Thinkpad Power Manager, it crashes. Vista says it has stopped working and gives me an option to Debug or Close Program.

 

BTW, I have installed Vista Ultimate 32-Bit.

Thinkpad W500, WSXGA+, ATI V5700. 4GB DDR3, 160GB@7200 RPM
Reply
Options

3 Posts

10-02-2008

ottawa

3 Signins

26 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎10-02-2008
  • Location: ottawa
  • Views: 26
  • Message 10 of 15

Re: What a Nightmare W500

2008-10-02, 15:10 PM

It seems common practice for folks here to re-install the OS when they receive their system.

 

Why? Remove unwanted software? Change of OS?

 

I would just like to know if this is something I should consider.

 

Thanks

 

James

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms