English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

02-09-2011

Canada

46 Signins

55 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎02-09-2011
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 55
  • Message 21 of 32

Re: X-Rite colour calibration: No ECCM2SensorData.dat file on W540?

2014-06-17, 14:19 PM

Did you ever get the "No ECCM2SensorData.dat" problem resolved.  I have the exact same model of W540 and the exact same problem.  Checking if others have this problem before calling support.

 

Reply
Options

17 Posts

05-22-2014

London

16 Signins

197 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎05-22-2014
  • Location: London
  • Views: 197
  • Message 22 of 32

Re: X-Rite colour calibration: No ECCM2SensorData.dat file on W540?

2014-06-17, 14:22 PM
Sorry to hear that you are also having this problem. No I had no joy with
this, and I'm now waiting on an RMA. Out of interest, was your machine also
a configure-to-order?
Reply
Options

3 Posts

02-09-2011

Canada

46 Signins

55 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎02-09-2011
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 55
  • Message 23 of 32

Re: X-Rite colour calibration: No ECCM2SensorData.dat file on W540?

2014-06-17, 14:34 PM

Yes, it was configure-to-order.  I don't think that "ThinkPad" in a pre-configured option, i.e. Add To Cart, like the IdeaPad or Essentials do.  [Essentially, I did my usual thing of getting the stuff that can't be changed, i.e. CPU/3K display and I cheaped out on the factory RAM and factory hard-drive (dual 500GB RAID0).  I got after-market RAM and SSDs for way cheaper.  But before anyone asks, the problem was experienced with the factory configuration and aftermarket configuration.]

 

RMA - as in send it back to factory?  Can't afford that, my livelihood depends on this laptop now since the project has already started.  I have just disabled the colour calibrator and uninstalled the software.  I have a ColorVision Spyder, and I will probably give that a whirl when I have some time.  Let me know how the RMA goes.  If you actually get the ECCM2SensorData.dat, would you post it?

Reply
Options

17 Posts

05-22-2014

London

16 Signins

197 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎05-22-2014
  • Location: London
  • Views: 197
  • Message 24 of 32

Re: X-Rite colour calibration: No ECCM2SensorData.dat file on W540?

2014-06-17, 14:52 PM
Yes I'm sending it back for refund. I want what I paid for. My project gas
started too but I'm lucky enough to have a plan B - the five year old
MacBook Pro it was intended to replace.

According to the documentation the data file is unique to the panel, so to
get the file the display would have to be replaced. I love the keyboard,
like the trackpad, but Windows has been so unreliable for me on this
machine I'm not willing to waste any more time on it. I'm now considering
Dell, HP, or Apple instead.
Reply
Options

17 Posts

05-22-2014

London

16 Signins

197 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎05-22-2014
  • Location: London
  • Views: 197
  • Message 25 of 32

Re: X-Rite colour calibration: No ECCM2SensorData.dat file on W540?

2014-07-01, 23:28 PM

RMA collection tomorrow. They emailed the details at 5pm for a 9am-4pm window - consequently I'm not impressed, because now I have to be home the whole day with basically zero notice, not to mention complying with the packing requirements at the last minute, and there's no way I'll send it back without a complete wipe/restore, which has done just 15% in three hours... It might not even finish in time.

 

I'm a little bitter-sweet about the whole thing - IF the colour calibration worked, IF Windows wasn't silly slow compared to Linux, IF the customer service wasn't utterly horrible, I'd want to keep it. Alas, I have no faith that if I had a REAL problem that it'd get fixed.

 

Good luck to other W540 owners, I hope you do better than I have.

Reply
Options

5 Posts

11-28-2014

Florida, USA

9 Signins

85 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎11-28-2014
  • Location: Florida, USA
  • Views: 85
  • Message 26 of 32

Re: X-Rite colour calibration: No ECCM2SensorData.dat file on W540?

2014-11-28, 23:15 PM

I have the same problem of missing ECCM2SensorData.dat with my new W540.

I went through reinstalling Pantone without help.

Any suggestions for fixes?

Thanks in advance,

Bertho

Reply
Options

1 Posts

12-19-2013

Bulgaria

3 Signins

48 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎12-19-2013
  • Location: Bulgaria
  • Views: 48
  • Message 27 of 32

Re: X-Rite colour calibration: No ECCM2SensorData.dat file on W540?

2014-12-20, 13:13 PM

Yes, this is software problem and I don't know why is happening. ECCM2SensorData.dat contain data for specific sensor. Sensor Replacement Utility is looking for this file so copy this file from different machine with color sensor and run Sensor Replacement Utility. This program will test your personal sensor and will generate new file with your specific data. Then PANTON software will start normally.

Reply
Options

6 Posts

05-01-2016

US

6 Signins

138 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎05-01-2016
  • Location: US
  • Views: 138
  • Message 28 of 32

Re: X-Rite colour calibration: No ECCM2SensorData.dat file on W540?

2016-05-01, 1:23 AM

Anybody find or have a copy of this file or a soultion for this problem?

Reply
Options

3 Posts

07-04-2019

RO

6 Signins

38 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎07-04-2019
  • Location: RO
  • Views: 38
  • Message 29 of 32

Re: X-Rite colour calibration: No ECCM2SensorData.dat file on W540?

2019-07-06, 17:42 PM

Hello everyone, this thread is old but still some people still encounter this problems. I managed to get a copy of the files from a working p50 4k. Hope it helps future users

Reply
Options

3 Posts

03-08-2020

US

5 Signins

20 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎03-08-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 20
  • Message 30 of 32

Re:X-Rite colour calibration: No ECCM2SensorData.dat file on W540?

2020-03-12, 16:34 PM

same here.

Got a W540 that i just reboot with windows 10 pro and I cannot color calibrate my laptop. When I open Pantom olor calibrator it just tell me that it cannot find my monitor.

 

Any of you guys found a solution ? 

 

My best

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete