English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

38 Posts

08-02-2008

Estonia

297 Signins

1563 Page Views

  • Posts: 38
  • Registered: ‎08-02-2008
  • Location: Estonia
  • Views: 1563
  • Message 1 of 3

hotkeys Alt+Ctrl+F1 - Alt+Ctrl+F5 - which pre-install application intercepts them

2013-11-17, 20:49 PM

I used to use keys combination from Alt+Ctrl+F1 to Alt+Ctrl+F5 as hotkeys for certain application. But in my new Lenovo ThinkPad w530 with Windows 7 x64 I can not do it, as it seems, that some pre-installed software has registered these combination for itself. When I press them, absolutely nothing happens, but if I try to assign these combinations in my app, i get the error message, that they are already registered for some other application.

I've checked twice all installed applications, starting from Window 7 itself. Seems, that none of them uses these keys.

Well, I've tried than to stop virtually any software, incuding resident utilities, but this hotkyes are still busy :smileysurprised:

Is there any ideas, which piece of software pre-installed by Lenovo might reserve these combination for itself?

Or is there any way to detect, which application intercepts handling this keys?

Thanks in advance!

Reply
Options

38 Posts

08-02-2008

Estonia

297 Signins

1563 Page Views

  • Posts: 38
  • Registered: ‎08-02-2008
  • Location: Estonia
  • Views: 1563
  • Message 2 of 3

Re: hotkeys Alt+Ctrl+F1 - Alt+Ctrl+F5 - which pre-install application intercepts them

2013-12-07, 13:15 PM

So what? Whether nobody has the same issue with occupied hotkeys or has no time to answer?

 

I suppose, that the problem is somehow connected to the package Intel Management and Security Status, which is pre-installed by Lenovo. But i could not find any option to change these default hotkeys or disable them at all.

Reply
Options

1 Posts

11-04-2014

United States

1 Signins

7 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎11-04-2014
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 7
  • Message 3 of 3

Re: hotkeys Alt+Ctrl+F1 - Alt+Ctrl+F5 - which pre-install application intercepts them

2014-11-04, 22:08 PM

Hi, I had this problem too when I upgraded to W540. Very frustrating. Your comment on Intel made me think of my Intel Graphic Options when I right click on my desktop. I went to Intel "Graphics Options" -> Hot Keys and in there I disabled the hot keys. It worked! FYI, I'm using ctrl alt f5 in visual studio. I hope this helps!

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete