English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

48 Posts

03-31-2008

Kuwait

65 Signins

317 Page Views

  • Posts: 48
  • Registered: ‎03-31-2008
  • Location: Kuwait
  • Views: 317
  • Message 1 of 5

how to know which W520 model i have? Dual Core or not?

2020-08-20, 15:42 PM

Hello,

I want to upgrade my 16GB ram W520 to 32GB RAM, after reading here and there i reached to crucial.com upgrades but i got stuck on model selection screen as I don't know if mine is dual core or not.

 

I have CPU model name : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2920XM CPU @ 2.50GHz and this is lscpu output:

$ lscpu

Architecture:        x86_64

CPU op-mode(s):      32-bit, 64-bit

Byte Order:          Little Endian

CPU(s):              8

On-line CPU(s) list: 0-7

Thread(s) per core:  2

Core(s) per socket:  4

Socket(s):           1

NUMA node(s):        1

Vendor ID:           GenuineIntel

CPU family:          6

Model:               42

Model name:          Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2920XM CPU @ 2.50GHz

Stepping:            7

CPU MHz:             2590.311

CPU max MHz:         3500.0000

CPU min MHz:         800.0000

BogoMIPS:            4984.02

Virtualization:      VT-x

L1d cache:           32K

L1i cache:           32K

L2 cache:            256K

L3 cache:            8192K

NUMA node0 CPU(s):   0-7

Flags:               fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc cpuid aperfmperf pni pclmulqdq dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx smx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm pcid sse4_1 sse4_2 x2apic popcnt tsc_deadline_timer aes xsave avx lahf_lm epb pti ssbd ibrs ibpb stibp tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid xsaveopt dtherm ida arat pln pts md_clear flush_l1d

so how to know if I'm a dualcore one or not?

 

and if its dualcore one, is https://www.crucial.com/memory/ddr3/ct102464bf160b/ct2884947 the best ram model out there for my W520? or Samsung is better?

 

and how to identify if my W520 has 2 or 4 slots for extra RAM?

 

Thank you :)

 

 

Reply
Options

8357 Posts

01-13-2008

US

77295 Signins

2194174 Page Views

  • Posts: 8357
  • Registered: ‎01-13-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 2194174
  • Message 2 of 5

Re:how to know which W520 model i have? Dual Core or not?

2020-08-20, 16:12 PM

From your post:  "Core(s) per socket:  4".  From Intel:   [edit]  The post editor keeps removing my Intel link.  You can google your CPU model to find it, but richk has answered your question.

 

 


The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may contribute and benefit. ... GeezBlog

 

Communities: English Deutsch Español Português Русскоязычное Česká Slovenská Українська Polski Türkçe Moto English

Reply
Options

11282 Posts

01-02-2010

US

39723 Signins

415408 Page Views

  • Posts: 11282
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2010
  • Location: US
  • Views: 415408
  • Message 3 of 5

Re:how to know which W520 model i have? Dual Core or not?

2020-08-20, 20:44 PM

You have a quad-core CPU and can use 4 slots.  The safest thing is to buy Lenovo-branded RAM but most brands work.  Avoid sticks with the word "value" in the description.  DDR3-1066 (PC3-8500) is too slow and won't work.  RAM faster than DDR3-1600 (PC3-12800) won't speed anything up and may not work.  You can use DIMMs up to 8GB each; larger won't work.


Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
Reply
Options

48 Posts

03-31-2008

Kuwait

65 Signins

317 Page Views

  • Posts: 48
  • Registered: ‎03-31-2008
  • Location: Kuwait
  • Views: 317
  • Message 4 of 5

Re:how to know which W520 model i have? Dual Core or not?

2020-08-23, 1:36 AM
Thanks, from where i can find Lenovo-branded RAM? and if i don't find due to its old model, whats better crucial or samsumg or any other brand? Thank you
Reply
Options

11282 Posts

01-02-2010

US

39723 Signins

415408 Page Views

  • Posts: 11282
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2010
  • Location: US
  • Views: 415408
  • Message 5 of 5

Re:how to know which W520 model i have? Dual Core or not?

2020-08-23, 19:23 PM

I am in U.S. so I don't know where you can buy it in your location.  Most brands work.  I tend to use any of the major brands but avois those with the word value in the description.  Always confirm a seller's return policy.


Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete