English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

154 Posts

11-12-2008

IT

143 Signins

792 Page Views

  • Posts: 154
  • Registered: ‎11-12-2008
  • Location: IT
  • Views: 792
  • Message 1 of 11

ram for thinkpad w530

2020-08-29, 8:31 AM

Hi. I was wrong. I own a Lenovo thinkpad w530. With it I can expand the ram to 32 gb. May you indicate the right modules to employ (possibly not so much expensive).

 

Thanks and best,

 

davide

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

154 Posts

11-12-2008

IT

143 Signins

792 Page Views

  • Posts: 154
  • Registered: ‎11-12-2008
  • Location: IT
  • Views: 792
  • Message 2 of 11

Re:ram for thinkpad w530

2020-08-30, 8:14 AM

I am sorry. I know to be fastidious, but my query was simple... A simple suggestion...

 

Thanks and best,

 

davide 

Reply
Options

2498 Posts

06-13-2013

US

10947 Signins

58901 Page Views

  • Posts: 2498
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2013
  • Location: US
  • Views: 58901
  • Message 3 of 11

Re:ram for thinkpad w530

2020-08-30, 9:43 AM

I install Crucial Memory in any of the laptops or desktops I've owned or built for people. They're reasonably priced and have always worked flawlessly.  In particular I've added Crucial Memory into my own W530 and P70 laptops which were originally purchased with minimum factory memory from Lenovo for cost reasons, and then upgraded by me once the laptops had arrived.  No problem with compatibility between the Crucial brand and Lenovo original factory Samsung or Hynix memory.

 

Here is the set of W530-compatible memory available from Crucial. I assume they ship internationally, or you can look for locally available equivalent which will no doubt be less expensive because of reduced shipping cost.

 

You're looking for something compatible with DDR3 PC3-12800 (800Mhz) memory, CL=11 unbuffered non-ECC (DDR3-1600), voltage 1.35v will work fine even though the original W530 memory was from a time where 1.50v was the norm.

 

Most important is to look at your currently installed memory using CPUZ or HWINFO64 or similar utility.

 

You want to upgrade to add additional memory with "matching speed/timings". Or, you can replace your existing memory card(s) with a new "matching set" of "matched pairs". Maximum memory performance ("dual channel mode") is obtained by having either two or four memory cards installed, with each pair of two cards having the same memory size for both cards (while still allowing the size of one pair being different than the size of the second pair).  All cards should have the same memory speed/timings.

 

Total max memory configuration size of all four cards is 32GB (i.e. 4x8GB=32GB). But you can buy individual memory cards for the W530 in 2GB or 4GB or 8GB sizes, or in "kits" of 2x cards of the same size.

Reply
Options

154 Posts

11-12-2008

IT

143 Signins

792 Page Views

  • Posts: 154
  • Registered: ‎11-12-2008
  • Location: IT
  • Views: 792
  • Message 4 of 11

Re:ram for thinkpad w530

2020-08-31, 18:59 PM

Thanks. In the site I have not found modules of 16 gb, but on Amazon, yes. This is correct:

 

https://www.amazon.it/Crucial-CT16G4SFD824A-Memoria-PC4-19200-260-Pin/dp/B019FRBHZ0/ref=mp_s_a_1_24_sspa?dchild=1&keywords=ram+Lenovo+ThinkPad+w530&qid=1598897593&sr=8-24-spons&psc=1&spLa=ZW5jcnlwdGVkUXVhbGlmaWVyPUEzNEtKMkkzRU04VjlFJmVuY3J5cHRlZElkPUEwNDYyMzcxMkJJVlBVUldaSDdUSCZlbmNyeXB0ZWRBZElkPUEwMjg2MDAyMkozNUxST0tPM0Y0TCZ3aWRnZXROYW1lPXNwX3Bob25lX3NlYXJjaF9tdGYmYWN0aW9uPWNsaWNrUmVkaXJlY3QmZG9Ob3RMb2dDbGljaz10cnVl

 

Thanks and best,

 

davide

Reply
Options

11222 Posts

01-02-2010

US

39677 Signins

414748 Page Views

  • Posts: 11222
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2010
  • Location: US
  • Views: 414748
  • Message 5 of 11

Re:ram for thinkpad w530

2020-09-01, 3:30 AM

No.  That is DDR4 16GB.  You need DDR3.  You have 4 slots  and the maximum per module is 8GB.  4X8GB = 32GB


Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

154 Posts

11-12-2008

IT

143 Signins

792 Page Views

  • Posts: 154
  • Registered: ‎11-12-2008
  • Location: IT
  • Views: 792
  • Message 6 of 11

Re:ram for thinkpad w530

2020-09-03, 9:19 AM

Only a question: I have 16Gb of memory; i.e. two set, each of 8GB. Therefore, I could purchase only two other modules of 8Gb. Is it possible, or the modules must be of the same brand?

 

Thanks and best,

 

davide

Reply
Options

2498 Posts

06-13-2013

US

10947 Signins

58901 Page Views

  • Posts: 2498
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2013
  • Location: US
  • Views: 58901
  • Message 7 of 11

Re:ram for thinkpad w530

2020-09-03, 21:50 PM

If you currently have two memory cards of 8GB each, that takes up two of the four memory slots in the W530.

 

So yes, you can buy two more 8GB cards, and install them in the remaining two currently empty memory slots of the W530. The largest memory card you can put in a memory slot of the W530 is 8GB, as has been explained. That's why the maximum memory is 4 x 8GB = 32GB.

.

The two new 8GB cards you want to buy do not have to be the same brand as that of the currently installed 2 x 8GB = 16GB. You can buy from any vendor, but as previously explained the timing, speed, etc. specs of the new memory must match that of the currently installed memory.

 

Again, the original W530 memory was DDR3 PC3-12800 (800Mhz) memory, CL=11 unbuffered non-ECC (DDR3-1600). So that's what you want to buy. 

 

For example, here is the set of W530-compatible memory available from Crucial, in assorted sizes. You're looking for a "kit" of 2 x 8GB = 16GB. 

Reply
Options

154 Posts

11-12-2008

IT

143 Signins

792 Page Views

  • Posts: 154
  • Registered: ‎11-12-2008
  • Location: IT
  • Views: 792
  • Message 8 of 11

Re:ram for thinkpad w530

2020-09-04, 3:20 AM

Many thanks. It is a pity that I cannot value your help...

 

Thanks and best,

 

davide

Reply
Options

154 Posts

11-12-2008

IT

143 Signins

792 Page Views

  • Posts: 154
  • Registered: ‎11-12-2008
  • Location: IT
  • Views: 792
  • Message 9 of 11

Re:ram for thinkpad w530

2020-09-12, 0:18 AM

Let us suppose that two modules of 4 GB each one is installed. Can I install a pair of two modules of 8 gb each one? Or must they all four modules of the same size? In my example I could have 4x2 + 8x2.

 

Thanks and best,

 

davide

Reply
Options

154 Posts

11-12-2008

IT

143 Signins

792 Page Views

  • Posts: 154
  • Registered: ‎11-12-2008
  • Location: IT
  • Views: 792
  • Message 10 of 11

Re:ram for thinkpad w530

2020-09-15, 14:01 PM

Is no one interested in this question?

 

Best,

 

davide

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete