Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

52 Posts

03-29-2010

Berlin, Germany

151 Signins

999 Page Views

  • Posts: 52
  • Registered: ‎03-29-2010
  • Location: Berlin, Germany
  • Views: 999
  • Message 201 of 234

Re: Qualcomm WAN not working

2010-11-07, 0:36 AM

@alram:

Ah, what you *could* do, of course, is to try to get the Gobi module working on Linux. (As I said it works perfectly for me on Ubuntu. I tried it yesterday in the bus and I had absolutely no problems with switching cells.) Maybe it's got really something to do with your Windows installation.

 

I'm ready to help if you don't know what to do. :)

Reply
Options

17 Posts

08-30-2010

austria

73 Signins

446 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎08-30-2010
  • Location: austria
  • Views: 446
  • Message 202 of 234

Re: Qualcomm WAN not working

2010-11-07, 18:33 PM

hi codethief,

thanks to your advice. but the card isn't also working with linux. i have the following HDD's:
a) windows 7 - installed from the original MS Windows 7 DVD & installed all drivers manually with system update.
b) windows 7 - installed from the lenovo recovery DVD's. with all updates, without any other tools or drivers
c) windows 7 - original preinstalled image with all my tools.
d) ubuntu 10.04

alle disks shows the same behavior: disk inside of an 'working' W510, the WWAN card works perferctly. disk inside in one of my 'non working' W510: the WWAN card is comming and going in the device manager. under linux i can see the same behavor with lspci or looking in to /var/log/messages.


at the moment, we have 20 W510 units that are 'working' and 4 'non working' devices...


the last motherboard change in my W510 brought some change: the WWAN card is now _sometimes_ working. at the moment, i don't know details, when the card is working, and when not ... but it seems, that this have something todo with signal strength.

--
alram

Reply
Options

3538 Posts

07-12-2010

Malaysia

5065 Signins

104816 Page Views

  • Posts: 3538
  • Registered: ‎07-12-2010
  • Location: Malaysia
  • Views: 104816
  • Message 203 of 234

Re: Qualcomm WAN not working

2010-11-08, 3:16 AM
@jasen,

The screen is known and currently the team is working on a fix for this issue. A workaround has been provided which is disabling the Gobi WWAN card if customer is not using it. I understand this workaround does not work for those who uses their WWAN card however this is the temporary workaround which is provided while engineering is working on this issue.

//JameZ
Reply
Options

52 Posts

03-29-2010

Berlin, Germany

151 Signins

999 Page Views

  • Posts: 52
  • Registered: ‎03-29-2010
  • Location: Berlin, Germany
  • Views: 999
  • Message 204 of 234

Re: Qualcomm WAN not working

2010-11-13, 13:54 PM

Hey guys,

looks like there's a third episode to that Gobi2000 story. (Read: There's a new bug. >_>)

 

WWAN was working perfectly for me till yesterday evening. At the time it broke again I already had been online for 5-6 hours. So, what happened is that suddenly, no data would be transfered anymore. Instant messaging, surfing and everything else stopped working and my speed-o-meter displayed "0 Bytes/s in" and "0 Bytes/s out".

I formally closed the connection (I mean, actually I was already disconnected at that time) and tried to reestablish it which resulted in a "network timeout":

 

Nov 13 12:33:12 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) starting connection 'o2 (Mobile Flat L)'
Nov 13 12:33:12 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  (ttyUSB0): device state change: 3 -> 4 (reason 0)
Nov 13 12:33:12 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) Stage 1 of 5 (Device Prepare) scheduled...
Nov 13 12:33:12 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) Stage 1 of 5 (Device Prepare) started...
Nov 13 12:33:12 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) Stage 1 of 5 (Device Prepare) complete.
Nov 13 12:33:12 philosoph modem-manager: (ttyUSB0) opening serial device...
Nov 13 12:33:12 philosoph modem-manager: Modem /org/freedesktop/ModemManager/Modems/0: state changed (disabled -> enabling)
Nov 13 12:33:13 philosoph modem-manager: Modem /org/freedesktop/ModemManager/Modems/0: state changed (enabling -> enabled)
Nov 13 12:33:13 philosoph modem-manager: Registration state changed: 2
Nov 13 12:33:13 philosoph modem-manager: Modem /org/freedesktop/ModemManager/Modems/0: state changed (enabled -> searching)

Nov 13 12:34:13 philosoph NetworkManager: <WARN>  stage1_prepare_done(): GSM modem connection failed: (32) Network timeout
Nov 13 12:34:13 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  (ttyUSB0): device state change: 4 -> 9 (reason 1)
Nov 13 12:34:13 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Marking connection 'o2 (Mobile Flat L)' invalid.
Nov 13 12:34:13 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) failed.

 

(Please notice that on my cellphone WWAN was still working the whole time, so it's obviously no network issue! Also notice, that the firmware didn't crash or anything.)

 

"Must be Linux" I told myself.

Just to make sure, I coldbooted into Windows (so that Gobi module's volatile memory is cleared (and the firmware which it was flashed with by the driver gets removed). But Access Connections now displayed "Unknown network"  instead of the usual "o2 – de" (= o2 Germany). As expected, trying to connect was impossible, too, and resulted in the freezing we already now from the previous bug: It's constantly saying it's still connecting, you can still click most buttons (e.g. the "cancel" button) but there's no reaction. Also, there was that window popping up all the time, telling me that I'm either out of range or my SIM card has still got to be activated. (Sorry, I don't know the exact English translation for this rather abstract error message.)

@Lenovo Engineers: Using the diagnosis tool in Access Connections I recorded the connection logs you can find here.

Comparing it to the previous issue, I can tell that the Gobi module doesn't diappear in the device manager.

 

Seeing the same issue on two different operating system first of all tells me that the bug has nothing to do with the OS.

Also, as the issue survives coldboots, it's probably located somewhere in the part of the firmware called "boot code"(?), which is stored on the device itself and which I recently updated just as JameZ told us to do.

Reply
Options

52 Posts

03-29-2010

Berlin, Germany

151 Signins

999 Page Views

  • Posts: 52
  • Registered: ‎03-29-2010
  • Location: Berlin, Germany
  • Views: 999
  • Message 205 of 234

Re: Qualcomm WAN not working

2010-11-13, 13:59 PM

So, what I've done, today, to get it (partly) working again is the following (this might also work on Windows in case you're experiencing the same issue there):

On Linux I took the SIM out and tried to connect again, which resulted in an error. Ok, that was expected. I put the SIM back in. This time I received:

 

Nov 13 12:36:11 philosoph NetworkManager: <WARN>  stage1_prepare_done(): GSM modem connection failed: (32) Sending command failed: 'Resource temporarily unavailable'
Nov 13 12:36:11 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  (ttyUSB0): device state change: 4 -> 9 (reason 1)
Nov 13 12:36:11 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Marking connection 'o2 (Mobile Flat L)' invalid.
Nov 13 12:36:11 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) failed.

 

I flipped the radio killswitch to Off, then back to On and tried it again:


Nov 13 12:36:52 philosoph modem-manager: Got failure code 13: SIM failure
Nov 13 12:36:52 philosoph NetworkManager: <WARN>  stage1_prepare_done(): GSM modem connection failed: (32) SIM failure
Nov 13 12:36:52 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  (ttyUSB0): device state change: 4 -> 9 (reason 1)
Nov 13 12:36:52 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Marking connection 'o2 (Mobile Flat L)' invalid.
Nov 13 12:36:52 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) failed.


This didn't come unexpected, either, as I've never heard of someone successfully hotswapping the SIM card.

Anyway, I coldbooted again into Linux and this time it worked. Essentially, what I tried to do by taking out the SIM card was to somehow reset the device and that part of its configuration that apparently survives coldboots. (@alram: Could try to do this reset, too, and see what happens?)

 

However, it didn't last long because as I'm writing this, I've suddenly lost connection again. Both times this happened I received:

 

Nov 13 13:32:56 philosoph pppd[2568]: Modem hangup
Nov 13 13:32:56 philosoph kernel: [ 3296.516024] usb 2-1.4: USB disconnect, address 7
Nov 13 13:32:56 philosoph kernel: [ 3296.516461] qcserial ttyUSB0: Qualcomm USB modem converter now disconnected from ttyUSB0

Nov 13 13:32:56 philosoph kernel: [ 3296.516489] qcserial 2-1.4:1.2: device disconnected
Nov 13 13:32:56 philosoph pppd[2568]: Connect time 34.4 minutes.
Nov 13 13:32:56 philosoph pppd[2568]: Sent 2297216 bytes, received 3912189 bytes.
Nov 13 13:32:56 philosoph modem-manager: (ttyUSB0) closing serial device...

Nov 13 13:32:56 philosoph modem-manager: Modem /org/freedesktop/ModemManager/Modems/1: state changed (connected -> disabled)
Nov 13 13:32:56 philosoph modem-manager: Removed modem /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1d.0/usb2/2-1/2-1.4
Nov 13 13:32:56 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  (ttyUSB0): now unmanaged
Nov 13 13:32:56 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  (ttyUSB0): device state change: 8 -> 1 (reason 36)
Nov 13 13:32:56 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  (ttyUSB0): deactivating device (reason: 36).
Nov 13 13:32:56 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  (ttyUSB0): cleaning up...
Nov 13 13:32:56 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  (ttyUSB0): taking down device.
Nov 13 13:32:56 philosoph pppd[2568]: Connection terminated.
Nov 13 13:32:56 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Unmanaged Device found; state CONNECTED forced. (see http://bugs.launchpad.net/bugs/191889)
Nov 13 13:32:56 philosoph nm-dispatcher.action: Error in get_property: Method "Get" with signature "ss" on interface "org.freedesktop.DBus.Properties" doesn't exist#012
Nov 13 13:32:56 philosoph NetworkManager:    SCPlugin-Ifupdown: devices removed (path: /sys/devices/virtual/net/ppp0, iface: ppp0)
Nov 13 13:32:57 philosoph kernel: [ 3296.776282] usb 2-1.4: new high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 8
Nov 13 13:32:57 philosoph kernel: [ 3296.908686] usb 2-1.4: config 1 has an invalid interface number: 1 but max is 0
Nov 13 13:32:57 philosoph kernel: [ 3296.908694] usb 2-1.4: config 1 has no interface number 0
Nov 13 13:32:57 philosoph kernel: [ 3296.912162] qcserial 2-1.4:1.1: Qualcomm USB modem converter detected
Nov 13 13:32:57 philosoph kernel: [ 3296.912316] usb 2-1.4: Qualcomm USB modem converter now attached to ttyUSB1
Nov 13 13:32:57 philosoph pppd[2568]: Exit.
Nov 13 13:32:58 philosoph modem-manager: (ttyUSB1) opening serial device...
Nov 13 13:32:58 philosoph modem-manager: (ttyUSB1): probe requested by plugin 'Gobi'
Nov 13 13:32:59 philosoph NetworkManager: <debug> [1289651579.000888] ensure_killed(): waiting for ppp pid 2568 to exit
Nov 13 13:32:59 philosoph NetworkManager: <debug> [1289651579.000998] ensure_killed(): ppp pid 2568 cleaned up
Nov 13 13:33:00 philosoph kernel: [ 3300.097027] usb 2-1.4: USB disconnect, address 8
Nov 13 13:33:00 philosoph kernel: [ 3300.097196] qcserial ttyUSB1: Qualcomm USB modem converter now disconnected from ttyUSB1
Nov 13 13:33:00 philosoph kernel: [ 3300.097223] qcserial 2-1.4:1.1: device disconnected

Nov 13 13:33:00 philosoph modem-manager: (ttyUSB1) closing serial device...
Nov 13 13:33:02 philosoph kernel: [ 3302.401739] usb 2-1.4: new high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 9

Nov 13 13:33:02 philosoph kernel: [ 3302.527278] qcserial 2-1.4:1.2: Qualcomm USB modem converter detected
Nov 13 13:33:02 philosoph kernel: [ 3302.527384] usb 2-1.4: Qualcomm USB modem converter now attached to ttyUSB0
Nov 13 13:33:02 philosoph modem-manager: (ttyUSB0) opening serial device...
Nov 13 13:33:02 philosoph modem-manager: (ttyUSB0): probe requested by plugin 'Gobi'
Nov 13 13:33:04 philosoph modem-manager: Got failure code 100: Unknown error
Nov 13 13:33:05 philosoph modem-manager: Got failure code 100: Unknown error
Nov 13 13:33:06 philosoph modem-manager: (ttyUSB0) closing serial device...


As you can see (if you compare it to the logs I posted months ago), this is basically the same error message I've always been receiving when the 2nd bug was still present: The firmware crashes, the system tries to flash it onto the device again, it crashes, it's being flashed again, it crashes yet another time ("Unknown error").

This time however, it successfully gets loaded immediately afterwards (= there's no crash cycle):

 

Nov 13 13:33:06 philosoph modem-manager: (Gobi): GSM modem /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1d.0/usb2/2-1/2-1.4 claimed port ttyUSB0
Nov 13 13:33:06 philosoph modem-manager: Added modem /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1d.0/usb2/2-1/2-1.4
Nov 13 13:33:06 philosoph modem-manager: Exported modem /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1d.0/usb2/2-1/2-1.4 as /org/freedesktop/ModemManager/Modems/2
Nov 13 13:33:06 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  (ttyUSB0): new GSM device (driver: 'qcserial')
Nov 13 13:33:06 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  (ttyUSB0): exported as /org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/Devices/4
Nov 13 13:33:06 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  (ttyUSB0): now managed
Nov 13 13:33:06 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  (ttyUSB0): device state change: 1 -> 2 (reason 2)
Nov 13 13:33:06 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  (ttyUSB0): deactivating device (reason: 2).
Nov 13 13:33:06 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  (ttyUSB0): device state change: 2 -> 3 (reason 0)

 

 … which is why I can get it working again by trying to connect:

 

Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) starting connection 'o2 (Mobile Flat L)'
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  (ttyUSB0): device state change: 3 -> 4 (reason 0)
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) Stage 1 of 5 (Device Prepare) scheduled...
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) Stage 1 of 5 (Device Prepare) started...
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) Stage 1 of 5 (Device Prepare) complete.
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph modem-manager: (ttyUSB0) opening serial device...
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph modem-manager: Modem /org/freedesktop/ModemManager/Modems/2: state changed (disabled -> enabling)
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph modem-manager: Modem /org/freedesktop/ModemManager/Modems/2: state changed (enabling -> enabled)
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph modem-manager: Registration state changed: 1
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph modem-manager: Modem /org/freedesktop/ModemManager/Modems/2: state changed (enabled -> registered)
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph modem-manager: Modem /org/freedesktop/ModemManager/Modems/2: state changed (registered -> connecting)
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph modem-manager: Modem /org/freedesktop/ModemManager/Modems/2: state changed (connecting -> connected)
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) Stage 2 of 5 (Device Configure) scheduled...
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) Stage 2 of 5 (Device Configure) starting...
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  (ttyUSB0): device state change: 4 -> 5 (reason 0)
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) Stage 2 of 5 (Device Configure) successful.
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) Stage 3 of 5 (IP Configure Start) scheduled.
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) Stage 2 of 5 (Device Configure) complete.
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) Stage 3 of 5 (IP Configure Start) started...
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  (ttyUSB0): device state change: 5 -> 7 (reason 0)
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Starting pppd connection
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph NetworkManager: <debug> [1289653597.437179] nm_ppp_manager_start(): Command line: /usr/sbin/pppd nodetach lock nodefaultroute ttyUSB0 noipdefault noauth usepeerdns lcp-echo-failure 0 lcp-echo-interval 0 ipparam /org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/PPP/2 plugin /usr/lib/pppd/2.4.4/nm-pppd-plugin.so
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph NetworkManager: <debug> [1289653597.438594] nm_ppp_manager_start(): ppp started with pid 3143
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) Stage 4 of 5 (IP6 Configure Get) scheduled...
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) Stage 3 of 5 (IP Configure Start) complete.
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) Stage 4 of 5 (IP6 Configure Get) started...
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) Stage 4 of 5 (IP6 Configure Get) complete.
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph pppd[3143]: Plugin /usr/lib/pppd/2.4.4/nm-pppd-plugin.so loaded.
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph pppd[3143]: pppd 2.4.5 started by root, uid 0
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph NetworkManager:    SCPlugin-Ifupdown: devices added (path: /sys/devices/virtual/net/ppp0, iface: ppp0)
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph NetworkManager:    SCPlugin-Ifupdown: device added (path: /sys/devices/virtual/net/ppp0, iface: ppp0): no ifupdown configuration found.
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph pppd[3143]: Using interface ppp0
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph pppd[3143]: Connect: ppp0 <--> /dev/ttyUSB0
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph pppd[3143]: CHAP authentication succeeded
Nov 13 14:06:37 philosoph pppd[3143]: CHAP authentication succeeded
Nov 13 14:06:44 philosoph pppd[3143]: Could not determine remote IP address: defaulting to 10.64.64.64

Nov 13 14:06:44 philosoph pppd[3143]: Cannot determine ethernet address for proxy ARP
Nov 13 14:06:44 philosoph pppd[3143]: local  IP address 10.172.3.33
Nov 13 14:06:44 philosoph pppd[3143]: remote IP address 10.64.64.64
Nov 13 14:06:44 philosoph pppd[3143]: primary   DNS address 193.189.244.225
Nov 13 14:06:44 philosoph pppd[3143]: secondary DNS address 193.189.244.206
Nov 13 14:06:44 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  PPP manager(IP Config Get) reply received.
Nov 13 14:06:44 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) Stage 4 of 5 (IP4 Configure Get) scheduled...
Nov 13 14:06:44 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) Stage 4 of 5 (IP4 Configure Get) started...
Nov 13 14:06:44 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) Stage 5 of 5 (IP Configure Commit) scheduled...
Nov 13 14:06:44 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) Stage 4 of 5 (IP4 Configure Get) complete.
Nov 13 14:06:44 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) Stage 5 of 5 (IP Configure Commit) started...
Nov 13 14:06:45 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  (ttyUSB0): device state change: 7 -> 8 (reason 0)
Nov 13 14:06:45 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Policy set 'o2 (Mobile Flat L)' (ppp0) as default for routing and DNS.
Nov 13 14:06:45 philosoph NetworkManager: <info>  Activation (ttyUSB0) successful, device activated.

 

Hurray!

Now, I'm waiting for the bug to appear another time so that I can spend the rest of my day doing this reset procedure again, and again, and again…

Reply
Options

52 Posts

03-29-2010

Berlin, Germany

151 Signins

999 Page Views

  • Posts: 52
  • Registered: ‎03-29-2010
  • Location: Berlin, Germany
  • Views: 999
  • Message 206 of 234

Re: Qualcomm WAN not working

2010-11-14, 3:49 AM

Just to let you know: This afternoon, Gobi showed exactly the same crash cycle behavior like before the bugfix. (And of course on both, Linux and Windows!) Flipping the network killswitch, coldbooting, … nothing helped.

But now, several hours later, it suddenly works again…

Reply
Options

17 Posts

08-30-2010

austria

73 Signins

446 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎08-30-2010
  • Location: austria
  • Views: 446
  • Message 207 of 234

Re: Qualcomm WAN not working

2010-11-18, 19:24 PM

hi codethief,

 

thanks to your very extensive reply. i am sorry, but i can't test my system with your instructions. last tuesday lenovo fetched the device - they wan't to check the device in their labor. the other 3 concerned devices are in use by other users, and i am don't wan't to touch them.

 

but once the notebook is back and still has the problem, i'll try it ....

 

--

alram

Reply
Options

13 Posts

01-08-2011

BaWü

62 Signins

170 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎01-08-2011
  • Location: BaWü
  • Views: 170
  • Message 208 of 234

Re: w510 WWAN Gobi2000 issue with sim cards - BSOD, WWAN not working/detected, error msg

2011-01-19, 12:47 PM

Hi,

 

I'm sitting in front of  a ThinkPad T410 2537-V1K  [Warranty location is Austria] an my WWAN Gobi2000 doesn't work!

The Error Messsages are telling me that there is noch SIM available. Acces Connections shows that the card has Verizon Firmware, but the support tells me it would be a problem of the sim card reader and that a new board has to be installed.

 

Now I founs this entry, so I suppose, that there is no faulty board, but a Gobi2000 with faulty firmware. Now I'm wondering what to do!

 

Regards

Reply
Options

52 Posts

03-29-2010

Berlin, Germany

151 Signins

999 Page Views

  • Posts: 52
  • Registered: ‎03-29-2010
  • Location: Berlin, Germany
  • Views: 999
  • Message 209 of 234

Re: w510 WWAN Gobi2000 issue with sim cards - BSOD, WWAN not working/detected, error msg

2011-02-06, 21:00 PM

So, alram, have you received your ThinkPad in the meantime? :)

Reply
Options

17 Posts

08-30-2010

austria

73 Signins

446 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎08-30-2010
  • Location: austria
  • Views: 446
  • Message 210 of 234

Re: w510 WWAN Gobi2000 issue with sim cards - BSOD, WWAN not working/detected, error msg

2011-02-07, 7:23 AM

hi codethief,

 

i got my notebook back. the device was at UK, in an lenovo repair center. i had contact with an technican from there. but he wasn't able to reproduce the problem with their SIM card. so i got my notebook back, and as error cause i got the answer: my sim isn't an 3G data SIM (it is an voice only SIM). but i am shur, that the plan to this SIM, is an data plan. i had a call to our provider (A1) to change the SIM, just to eliminate every possible problem. i got a new one, an the problem resides the same. the SIM is working in one (of the working) W510 and isn't working in my W510.

 

at the moment i don't know, how to continue in this case. i think i'll call my dealer for an solution.

 

--

alram

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms